Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from D.E. Source: Google Apr 18 2022

"Professional nice explanation of things was great"

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google Mar 29 2022

"Great doctor. Very informative and professional. He provided excellent care. I highly recommend."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google Mar 28 2022

"Have been going to Dr. Cheng for years. He had a great bedside manner, explains everything thoroughly, and is happy to answer any questions you may have. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from Y.X. Source: Google Feb 25 2022

"I feel fortunate to be able to find Dr. Cheng. He is very knowledgeable and addressed all my concerns directly and properly. He'd also patiently answer all your questions and make his recommendations accordingly. I would highly recommend him for your first choice of GI doctor! There is just one thing: it's a bit hard to make appointment with him as he has a very tight schedule. I think this is because he is really good and many people are waiting in line to meet him!:)"

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Feb 21 2022

"Great group. Kind careful. Make an uncomfortable procedure easy!!!!"

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Feb 17 2022

"Great doctor! He listens to your concerns, answers all your questions, and genuinely cares about helping you. I would definitely recommend him to anyone needing a GI doctor."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Feb 01 2022

"Dr. Cheng is a very kind doctor and cares about his patients. I would recommend him and his services to others."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Jan 14 2022

"Very thorough, professional and friendly. I appreciated the time Dr Cheng took to make sure I was comfortable. The nurses, anesthesiologist and doctor were at their best."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Nov 26 2021

"Dr. Cheng diagnosed my Ulcerative Colitis and has treated it for many years, successfully getting me into a remission type of state. Thank you always!!"

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google Nov 07 2021

"Dr. Shan Cheng was very thorough explaining the procedure and process. Pleasant bedside manner."

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Oct 29 2021

"I am incredibly grateful for Dr Cheng and his staff. They were all very kind & knowledgeable. Each took time with me and answered all my questions. Each introduced him/ herself and explained all that would be happening during & post procedure. How refreshing that each took time for me. I did not just feel like a number, so to speak. Very personable doctor & staff. Thank you from the bottom of my ♥️."

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google Oct 28 2021

"Dr Cheng and everyone at Indy Gastro treated me like a person, not just a "next.". Dr Cheng is professional and personal both and he knows his specialty very well."

5.0 Review from B.E. Source: Google Oct 24 2021

"This was a great experience. The doctor was patient, kind and very informative. He was not In a hurry to get us out of the exam room. Then Did not hesitate to make a referral to IU, because he felt this would be a better course of action."

5.0 Review from N.M. Source: Google Oct 12 2021

"My name is Nancy Martin, I have been seeing Dr. Cheng for at least 4-5 yrs. I came to him a hot mess of a person with many GI issues. Slowly but surely he is helping me to feel better all around. He told me my first visit as I was crying, hurting and feeling just lost, I was a puzzle, but he promised to get all my pieces back together ❤ and he IS!!!!! He has the best "bed side" manner towards his patients that I have ever seen, makes sure I understand everything down to the last detail so I do not worry or freak out as my anxiety runs very high and am afraid of the unknown. I would recommend him to anyone, even my parents if ever needed (God forbid). If you need help in the GI issue of your life, I recommend him. He is awesome and will do anything possible to figure out the problem 😀 Thanks Dr. Cheng, for everything you have done and are still doing to help me. My puzzle is getting completed 🙌"

5.0 Review from P.U. Source: Google Oct 11 2021

"Really thorough Dr. I haven't felt this good in years."

5.0 Review from J. Source: Google Oct 01 2021

"In my experience Dr Cheng was very thorough and took his time to explain everything in detail. He was very polite and had great bedside manner"

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Sep 16 2021

"Dr. Cheng is awesome!!! Very nice and professional!! Explains procedures and take very good care of his patients!! I am very appreciative of his care for my health!!!"

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google Sep 15 2021

"The location parking is awful! But very impressed with punctuality. Dr. Cheng listened why was there and explained treatment options and why he felt I was already doing what could be done."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Aug 31 2021

"Dr Cheng was very attractive to my concerns and needs, very friendly and thorough. I was very at ease and appreciated the connection."

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google Aug 31 2021

"Dr. Cheng was extremely kind, professional and informative - answering all my questions and thoroughly explaining the procedure."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google Aug 27 2021

"I've been going to Indianapolis Gastroenterology for over 35 years. Dr. Cheng has been my physician for about 10 years. He's very knowledgeable and professional. I've had multiple dialations, scopes and Colonoscopys. All have gone very smoothly. I have complete trust in his abilities. I would recommend him very highly."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Aug 05 2021

"I have found that Dr Cheng to be very caring. His conversation with me put me at ease for the procedure. Because I trust him, this is the third time I have had him to do this procedure for me. I do trust him."

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google Aug 04 2021

"Dr Cheng is a very caring and attentive physician."

5.0 Review from H.H. Source: Google Jul 14 2021

"Very good service and friendly"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jun 15 2021

"Dr Cheng is a very kind doctor. I have seen him for many years he is always on top of of my health conditions & explains everything to me where I can understand. I would recommend him to any family member or friend. All his staff have always been kind & respectful"

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google May 17 2021

"Great doctor, really takes time to listen to you."

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google Apr 10 2021

"Dr. Cheng and his staff are amazing. He always studies my chart before he talks to me and knows exactly what is going on with my health. He is very caring and attentive. Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google Mar 25 2021

"Professional, personable, and informative."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Mar 25 2021

"Dr. Cheng is very personable and answered all my questions and concerns. Made me feel very comfortable about the procedure I was about to have. Came in to talk with me before and after procedure which I thoroughly appreciated. Very professional.I also received a call from a staff member later in the evening to see if I was doing ok."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Mar 09 2021

"He was nice nice and personable. Made me feel very relaxed. Afterwards, explained my results and his office has checked up on me several times."

5.0 Review from A. Source: Google Mar 02 2021

"I’ve visited Dr Cheng a while ago and he was great. Very professional, knowledgeable, and explained everything in a clear way. The wait wasn’t long and he spent enough time with me to answer all my questions."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Jan 20 2021

"I did not have a long wait to see the doctor. Dr. Cheng was courteous, knowledgeable of my problem. He explained the treatment plan thoroughly. Great experience."

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Jan 20 2021

"Very professional and friendly. Dr. Cheng takes time to listen and understand."

5.0 Review from E.F. Source: Google Jan 19 2021

"Dr.Cheng is the most wonderful Dr he listens to his patients concerns and thoughts he has remarkable beside manners I would recommend Dr Cheng to all my friends my family also is s patient of his as well..The staff is very friendly as well..."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Jan 07 2021

"From the moment I walked through the doors at St. Frances and entered the GI office I was warmly greeted by the front desk receptionist. From my admitting nurse, my anestheologist and my post op nurse they were are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. My highest praise goes to Dr. Cheng though. I lost my father to colon cancer in 2017'. He was only 73 and passed 3 months after his colonoscopy which revealed a malignant mass in his lower colon. I was with my father when he had his colonoscopy and the doctor found the mass. I have struggled emotionally ever since. I am 45, having my very first colonoscopy during Covid and my family was not permitted to be in the office. I completely and totally understand but nevertheless it was a hard decision to follow through. Ultimately I proceeded with my procedure and upon my very first encounter with Dr. Cheng he treated me with compassion, sympathy over the untimely passing of my father but most importantly he made sure to reiterate that he was glad I decided to have my colonoscopy as it was a great way to honor my father. He consoled me as I wept and assured me I was in good hands and that they would take great care of me. I can honestly say over my life span I have had several surgeries and procedures but this was by far my best experience and procedure I have ever done. I am so very grateful I decided to keep my appointment and follow through. Hands down I highly recommend Dr. Cheng for not only his knowledge and compassion but for his bedside manner. Since my colonoscopy I have done nothing else but sing his praises as well as the staff at his office! Fantastic experience even though it was 2020' and Covid restrictions were in place. Best of luck to you and your loved ones and I hope your experience was as great as mine!"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Dec 05 2020

"Everyone was professional and very caring. I felt comfortable and pleased that the staff was friendly yet focused on my needs. I would definitely recommend Dr. Cheng to anyone. I’ve moved a lot because of my work and my experience with other gastroenterologists has not always been positive. I’m lucky to have been referred to Dr. Cheng - he spends time with me, I never feel rushed and he addresses any questions and/or concerns I have."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Dec 04 2020

"He is very helpful to clarify issues and to gather all information."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Dec 03 2020

"The staff is very helpful and Dr Cheng is thorough and great with his patients"

5.0 Review from F.W. Source: Google Nov 21 2020

"Dr. Chang has provided outstanding care for me over the past 8 years. He is not only thorough and highly competent but caring and compassionate. While attending to physical needs and concerns he always has a moment to inquire about my wife and other personal matters. I cannot imagine a better physician! Sincerely Fred Weller"

4.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Nov 21 2020

"Dr. Cheng was very attentive and very kind and explained everything to me. He is very knowledgeable and prescribed a medicine that has changed my outlook on my day. I am so happy that my brother had checked him out otherwise I would not be this happy. Thank you Dr. Cheng for having a plan."

5.0 Review from R.R. Source: Google Nov 21 2020

"Dr.Cheng was both personable and professional towards my wife and I during her checkup, being asian my wife sometimes relies on me to be with her during medical examinations and he okayed this and understood that I was her advocate and respected that."

5.0 Review from S.Q. Source: Google Jan 31 2020

"I had a life-threatening incident involving esophageal bleeding. I believe Dr. Cheng saved MY life. Thank You Dr. Cheng."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Jun 19 2018

"He is a excellent doctor!"

5.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google Nov 03 2017

"Dr. Cheng is an outstanding doctor. He spent over an hour with me explaining everything about my fatty liver. He is patient, kind, and full of knowledge. I simply can't say enough about what an amazing doctor he is!"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Sep 04 2017

"Dr Cheng is an excellent Dr that actually takes time to listen to the patient and talk to them and discuss the best treatment and does it(not like some Dr. "well we will try this", and ends uo not working.)"

5.0 Review from Z.P. Source: Google Apr 21 2017

"Excellent Doctor!!!"

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google Mar 23 2017

"Excellent doctor start to finish."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Aug 11 2016

"I was a social worker meeting many doctors. I learned that becoming a patient of Dr Chen gaghest recommendation possibleve me a personal and unique ways he uses in treating his patient. There was a time when doctors took a personal and compassionate approach and I would watch as a little girl just so amazed at the kindness and patience.Dr. Cheng is one of the finest doctors I have met. No wonder my doctor told me "don't get any doctor but Cheng". He truly deserves the highest award possible and I constantly tell patients in need of that treatment type. I RARELY do this. I pray God conts to bless him and we also pray for him. I humbly thank Dr. Cheng for everything."