Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from E.L. Source: Google Jun 17 2022

"Mr. Otero is a very patient MD and gives you the time to listen to his patients. He also takes the time to make you understand what is going on with your health your body and help you to understand what need to be done better for each one of his parents. Thank you and your staff for being patient and making us feel at easy when being put under for all procedures"

5.0 Review from H.S. Source: Google May 24 2022

"Great Doctor. He listened to me. Explained things in a way you can understand. His demeanor is very relaxing. If you are nervous, it will go away quickly. He cares about his patients. Dr. Otero and his staff are very professional, caring and friendly."

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Apr 19 2022

"Clear & forthright in findings & need for follow-up."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Apr 01 2022

"Caring doctor, office and nurse that got me in quickly! Thank you for your quick action!"

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Mar 27 2022

"This Dr. Found out what was wrong when no one else could. Thank you!!!!"

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Mar 07 2022

"Dr Otero cares about my health. He treats and makes recommendations for my gastric problems. He's a great doctor."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Feb 23 2022

"DR. OTERO IS A VERY NICE DR. HE MAKES SURE THAT YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT'S GOING ON WITH YOUR BODY. HE'LL TELL YOU MORE THEN ONE TIME AND THE STAFF MAKE SURE THAT YOU ARE COMFORTABLE. YOU GOT TO LOVE THEM ALL"

5.0 Review from V.P. Source: Google Feb 03 2022

"Dr. Richard Luis Otero, MD, has the best mannerism. He has made a new name for bedside manner. Office and hospital visit are the best.He is very loving, kind, courteous, thoughtful, and patient with his patients. He doesn’t rush his patients. He listens to you. He answers all of your questions, making sure you understand, exactly what you need to know about your condition before you leave his presence. He is not pushy with his recommendations concerning your health. He put you in the driver seat. He Looks at you when he’s talking with you. He is very easy to talk with and explains your condition or you can understand with it is about your condition. He is very concerning of your condition. He’s very confident and sure with his diagnosis and recommendations. He Is indefinitely outstanding. He had your best interest in caring for you. He’s been GI for my special needs granddaughter for four now, my brother for several years, and also several years for some of my friends. Not to leave out, he also has a outstanding staff team. I have and I do strongly recommend Dr. Otero to ANYBODY, anywhere who needs GI services. Drive ,fly, or move to San Antonio,Texas if you have to. You will not Regret it. That’s how well I think of my “ Dr. Richard Luis Otero, MD” , his staff and his services. *****, 10, A+ However the rating is, *Dr. Richard Luis Otero* is the highest rated. *Dr. Richard Luis Otero is very, very professional.*"

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Jan 13 2022

"Dr. Otero has been my doctor for at least 20 years, I am very happy with his care. He is very knowledgeable on all types of issues I have and he explains everything thoroughly and at my level. I like that. He is a great doctor and I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Dec 17 2021

"This is one of the few doctors that actually talks to you"

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Dec 14 2021

"Dr Otero is wonderful very caring and professional the best!!!"

4.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Dec 01 2021

"I like Dr. Oterro just fine. My beef is that the wait time at his office is always too long. I recently waited 2 1/2 hours to see the PA. They repeatedly told me I would be next and even put me in a room for the visit. She then left me for another 15 minutes. I left. I never saw her. I understand when there are unusual circumstances, but this kind of wait happens often. Please make Apts. with enough time between so a patient does not have to wait for hours."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Dec 01 2021

"I felt comfortable as soon as I met Dr. Otero.He treated me with such care and after suffering with my condition for many years he was able to diagnose n give me the treatment needed n literally gave me my life back.THANK YOU DR OTERO! GOD BLESS YOU N YOUR BRILLIANT MIND N KNOWLEDGE."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Nov 20 2021

"Dr. Otero & staff are awesome. He explains your situation in detail, his staff is friendly and professional. It’s a great practice."

4.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Nov 13 2021

"Dr. Otero. Has. Always. Been. A. Great Medical. Professional. He. Treated myself With. Great. Dignity And Concern. Very Fair, And Honest. Always A Pleasure To See and Chat With Him. The. Medical. Staff And Assistance are With out reproach. My Thanks,To One And. All."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Nov 13 2021

"Dr Otero is very easy to speak with and he explains everything in deal that you can understand. I've been seeing him for years and have a great deal of faith in his ability to care for me and my family."

5.0 Review from H.B. Source: Google Oct 30 2021

"Dr Otero is the best Gastrology Dr. He is so kind and caring. He takes his time with me and I feel well taken care of. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Sep 15 2021

"(Translated by Google) They treat you very well, Dr. Richard Otero is a wonderful Dr. in treating his patients I would not change him for another Dr. 👍 (Original) Te tratan muy bien, Dr. Richard Otero es un Dr. maravilloso en tratar a sus pacientes no lo cambiaría por otro Dr. 👍"

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google Aug 29 2021

"Dr Ortero has always been great to me.He takes the time to explain what is going on and ways to help it.His bed side manner is outstanding.His staff also does a wonderful job I appreciate each and everyone of them"

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google Aug 29 2021

"Dr Otero is the best. Very personable, knowledgeable, confident. He will take very good care of you."

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google Aug 13 2021

"He is a very good doctor been there many years"

4.0 Review from V.L. Source: Google Aug 10 2021

"A Dr. I can trust."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Aug 10 2021

"I have been a patient of Dr. Richard L. Otero since 1999. Dr. Otero has cared for me and my mom. I am eternally grateful for the type of caring, compassionate physician he is and to add he has a wonderful MA John and a wonderful nurse in charge Lori. Dr. Otero continue to be a blessing as you always have been. Grateful Patient D. Seward"

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Jul 20 2021

"Dr Otero is an excellent physician and I have been with him over 27 years. His staff PA’s are knowledgeable and efficient. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from K.F. Source: Google Jul 20 2021

"I really appreciate the time Dr. Otero took to explain to me what are you found and what our next step should be. I felt like he was thorough and put my mind at ease until we get more answers."

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google Jul 15 2021

"Great"

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Jul 12 2021

"Great doctor, treat you like family."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Jul 04 2021

"Dr. Otero is a patient doctor. I reccomend him highly to anyone needing assistance with gastroenterology."

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google Jul 03 2021

"Dr. Otero is personable and knowledgeable! Most of all, he listens to my concerns and takes the time to hear me. If you are looking for a doctor with wonderful bedside manners and expertise, look no further."

5.0 Review from D.T. Source: Google Jul 01 2021

"My first time at the doctor office. I feel he is a very knowledgeable and experienced doctor. He knew exactly what I needed done."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Jun 20 2021

"I truly believe that Dr. Otero has the most important QUALITY needed for anyone working in the Healthcare Industry. That QUALITY is CONSCIENTIOUSNESS. I would recommend him to any and everyone who requires and needs the Colonoscopy Procedure."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Jun 19 2021

"Dr. Otero is a consummate professional. He is extremely knowledgeable, but also has a wonderful, caring demeanor. I would recommend him unequivocally for any issues regarding GI matters."

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google Jun 19 2021

"Wonderful Dr. and great staff…."

5.0 Review from R.E. Source: Google Jun 10 2021

"Very professional and informative, great beside manners! I would definitely recommend Dr. Otero. The office was very friendly and helpful."

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Jun 09 2021

"He has been my Doctor for 11 years now and has always helped me out when I needed him. He has preformed at least 15 procedures on me, and both Dr. Otero and his Staff have always done a great job. I trust Dr. Otero so much, That I recommended him to my Mother; when she needed a gastroenterologist. She has been his patient for one year now. Dr. Otero really cares about his patients, as has always been caring when I needed to tell him about personal things. He always has a smile on his face and makes me feel at ease, whenever I see him before a procedure. I can’t say enough good things about Dr. Otero and how I feel about him. He is the best there is."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 30 2021

"It is my pleasure to let you know that Dr.otero is one of the best Dr. I have meet your health is in good hands one hundred percent.thank you DR.Otero for your service with our community .may God bless you and your wonderful staff always."

5.0 Review from P.T. Source: Google May 12 2021

"Best Dr Ever."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Apr 30 2021

"Dr. Otero is a awesome Dr., he truly cares about his patients and does everything in his power to help them get better. He is also very personal and caring, He is the best Dr. I have ever known and I trust him completely, his staff are also awesome."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Apr 12 2021

"Dr. Otero is caring and takes time to listen and answer all my questions! I would recommend him to Everyone! A true Dr. very professional wonderful staff, they take your care very seriously. If you need a Dr. I would call for a appointment you will be very happy you did."

5.0 Review from R.Z. Source: Google Apr 09 2021

"Dr Otero and his staff are very professional. The hospital is clean and organized. I went in three time over the course of a month. Each time, I was treated with care and respect."

5.0 Review from A.W. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"Very interested in your health problems. Great bedside manner, makes you feel comfortable.. really knows his business."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"Dr richard otero is the nicest professional dr.ive seen in his field of medicine in a long time the office staff are polite an professional as well."

5.0 Review from B.E. Source: Google Mar 13 2021

"I am a patient of Dr. Richard L. Otero, M. D. And I have been a patient of his for about six years now and all of my experiences have been great from the moment I enter his clinic the staff are very helpful and friendly. You greated with warm smile. I never had to wait for long to be seen. Dr. Otero knows how to make you feel that your health is very important to him. And he a good listener, and assures you that he's going to do everything that it takes to address your needs. And he and the team that works with him are so cheerful, when I went to have my procedure done, I felt reassured that I was in good hands, im not one of the best patient to get along with, but I must say. I give Dr. Otero and his staff 10 (STARS) if i could. Yes would refer him to anyone i know. I would like to thank you Dr Otero 😊 because I'm feeling much better know my health is in your hands. GOD Bless you and your staff 🙏."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Mar 13 2021

"I have been a patient of Dr Richard L. Otero for over 15 years. Dr Otero is an awesome doctor, caring and compassionate, he is very professional and explains everything so you understand. The best Gastroenterologist in San Antonio. Agnes Brown"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Dec 18 2020

"Everyone was so kind and nurturing. I felt save and welcomed. Lots of Beautiful and kind people work there.❤❤❤"

5.0 Review from D. Source: Google Sep 02 2020

"Our families Gastroenterologist for many yrs. Blessed to have Dr O who has treated us all above & beyond; utilizes his gastroenterology expertise experience to the highest caliber of quality professionalism, updated with newest knowledge, advance technology in treatments from acid reflux, Hepatitis C, ulcers, stomach, esophagus, colan cancer etc. He's made us comfortable prior any procedure and after. Courteous & professional staff; especially John who had to reschedule my appt., he explained why & did expedite rescheduled appt. within a week. Tks. Dr O & John, staff D.Martin"

5.0 Review from P.O. Source: Google Jan 05 2020

"I have been a patient of Dr. Otero's for 30+ years except when living out of state, as was my late mother. He AND his staff are caring, compassionate folks that truly listen. I drive from out of town (3 hrs away) for procedures and wouldn't change (for the world and I hope I don't ever have to!) God Bless them ALL."

5.0 Review from T.A. Source: Google Sep 27 2019

"The staff goes above and beyond to make you comfortable, and Dr. Otero outstanding Dr."

4.0 Review from Q.T. Source: Google May 14 2019

"I love this dr."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google May 07 2019

"I was very happy with my experience with Dr. Otero. My colonoscopy was not as bad as I expected nor was the prep. At my follow-up, I met with his PA, Anna, and she was so friendly and took her time with me. Thumbs up from me!"

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Oct 04 2018

"Excellent! everyone was so friendly at a time when you are having an unpleasant procedure. To my surprise, the Dr. came out to receive me and exemplified what I grew up with “ great bed side manners”. Thank you for making my experience as pleasant as possible! Have a blessed day!"

5.0 Review from A.I. Source: Google Jun 04 2018

"Excellent Dr. and very good medical ethics. Provides greart comfort and reasurrance. Would not change the Dr and staff for anything. Keep up the good work."

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google May 30 2018

"Staff is always friendly & helpful."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Jul 27 2017

"I had my pre-screening colonoscopy done by Dr. Otero at Mission Trail Baptist hospital. I requested Dr.Otero through my insurance. I truly recommend him. His loves and cares for his patients. The hospital staff was great and made me feel safe. Dr Otero also serves as my husbands Doctor. God bless Dr. Petri and his staff. Greatly."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Sep 20 2016

"Dr. Otero is an awesome Doctor. He's very knowledgeable, friendly and is very prompt. His office downtown is very efficiently ran with a very polite staff. His office at Mission Trails is quit the opposite, I had a 10:30 appointments and I sat for two hours before being seen, once I got in the room I didn't even get an apology until I made a comment about the wait. So I give the staff at that location one star!"