Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Nov 18 2022

"Dr Awtrey made an uncomfortable situation bearable. He has great bed side manners. He answered all my questions, even the ones I didn't know I had. Wonderful doctor and wonderful first consultation experience."

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Nov 18 2022

"Dr. Awtrey is knowledgeable and down to earth. After years of visits with other doctors, Dr. Awtrey finally figured things out for me."

5.0 Review from A.W. Source: Google Nov 17 2022

"Great bedside manner and very professional. Would definitely recommend Dr.Awtrey to anyone."

5.0 Review from A.F. Source: Google Nov 11 2022

"Great doctor. Friendly and thorough."

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Nov 11 2022

"Great service and I really like the fact that Dr. Awtrey listened to me and offered options to help me."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Nov 08 2022

"Great! Very personalable and wonderful bedside manner!"

5.0 Review from V.P. Source: Google Nov 08 2022

"Great Doctor very personal & makes feel comfortable with all my questions. Thanks"

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Nov 08 2022

"Dr.Awtrey, is a very concerned and patient doctor. He explains very clearly your situation and make sure you understand before leaving the office."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Nov 08 2022

"I had a very good experience on a recent doctor’s appointment with Dr Richard Awtrey. Dr Awtrey is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. He did a great job explaining to me what to expect from my upcoming procedure and he answered all of my questions. I would highly recommend Dr Richard Awtrey to anyone in search of a GI specialist."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Nov 07 2022

"Excellent Doctor."

5.0 Review from V.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"As opposed to my first colonoscopy this practice runs like clockwork with a very efficient and professional staff. Dr. Awtney’s confident exuberance allayed my fears through his thoughtful responses. I have already recommended him to several friends hesitant to go through with the procedure. Well done!"

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Love Dr Awtry. He compassionately answered my questions and made sure that I was comfortable with our plan before I left the office"

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Oct 20 2022

"Dr. Awtrey and his team are the best! Colonoscopy can be a scary and uncomfortable procedure, but Dr. Awtrey made it feel easy. I also felt that he would handle it for me with total caring, skill and professionalism, whatever the outcome. I trust Dr. Awtrey, with good reason."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Oct 11 2022

"Great Dr"

5.0 Review from L.N. Source: Google Sep 29 2022

"Fantastic Experience! Dr Richard Awtrey is an outstanding Doctor. He is extremely professional. He takes time to listen and time to explain. He have a great personality. The staff is Awesome! very friendly and helpful. I Highly recommend to all my family and friends."

5.0 Review from K. Source: Google Sep 10 2022

"I have seen Dr. Awtry several times over the past few years, he is great. Always warm and welcoming as well as thorough. I have confidence and highly recommend him and Group. Also the wait time was reasonable."

5.0 Review from W.W. Source: Google Jul 27 2022

"My experience was great as it usually is. From the receptionist (check in) to everyone I had contact with they were all wonderful. Dr Awtrey is the best!"

5.0 Review from T.G. Source: Google Jul 20 2022

"Great prompt attention"

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google Jul 20 2022

"Dr Awtry is very caring and helpful with my particular GI issues! I highly recommend him for any GI problems!"

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Jul 20 2022

"Friendly, efficient staff and the Dr is top notch."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Jul 12 2022

"Dr. Awtrey is the consummate professional. He is very caring, and he is totally committed to his patients."

5.0 Review from S.T. Source: Google Jul 07 2022

"Dr Awtrey is warm and patient. He takes time to explain things and his staff keep you informed if there are delays."

4.0 Review from B.E. Source: Google Jul 07 2022

"Listen to the patient very courteous an understanding"

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google Jun 15 2022

"My experiences with the staff was GREAT! They were very professional and friendly. I appreciate the time they took to cater to my needs while in their care. I also LOVE how they were patience with me. They are all awesome staff."

5.0 Review from J.J. Source: Google Jun 04 2022

"Dr Awtrey is a great Doctor and he’s funny"

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google May 16 2022

"Very professional and pleasant doctor."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google May 11 2022

"Dr Awtrey is an excellent physician and a genuinely nice human. He listens respectfully and provides clear and understandable answers. His upbeat and joyful approach is tempered very well with the need for one’s concerns. The entire office staff and team are efficient, a gracious & well oiled machine that manages to help one feel at ease. Go to these guys. You’ll be very pleased."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Apr 08 2022

"Everyone was very pleasant, caring and professional!!"

5.0 Review from H.T. Source: Google Apr 07 2022

"Very caring Dr and staff. I was made to feel very comfortable and treated with the utmost respect. This Dr has an awesome beside manner. Thank you Dr Awtrey for taking such good care of me."

5.0 Review from C. Source: Google Apr 07 2022

"Dr. Autrey has twice turned his schedule upside down to see me, and has been thorough and steadfast trying to figure out my difficult acute digestive issue. I cannot say enough good about his care and dedication! THANK YOU Dr. Autrey!!!"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"I love Dr. Richard Awtrey because he takes time with you and he tells you what he would be doing to you and he checks on you after. Thank you"

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Jan 26 2022

"Dr. Awtrey helped me through the most difficult time in my life health wise when other physicians dismissed me. I was suffering from serious GI symptoms, I lost a lot of weight, I was really sick, and it was horrible. We worked together, ruled things out, tweaked my diet to eliminate “trigger foods,” and finally I’m healthy. Dr. Awtrey is compassionate and will always go above and beyond for his patients. He’s the best!"

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Jan 21 2022

"Excellent care and services. Highly recommend."

4.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Jan 08 2022

"Staff pleasant this go round. Only problem was my written instructions for procedure prep differed from the physicians plans. Procedure done but not able to do it completely."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Dec 30 2021

"Great doctor! Great care!"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Dec 30 2021

"Dr. Awtrey was very professional and caring. My procedure was flawless with no complications or complaints."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Dec 16 2021

"Dr. Richard Awtrey is an Excellent doctor. He explain the procedure thoroughly. He is a respectful physician. I definitely would recommend him to family and friends."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Nov 08 2021

"Dr. Awtrey was referred to me by my PCP and it was one of the greatest things that happened to me. I left my first visit with the confidence of everything was going to be ok. Dr. Awtrey gave me the assurance that he was going to find out what was going on with me and he would do his best to take good care of me and he did. He gave me a ray of hope and all went well. His professionalism, personality and the joy he brought into that office the first time I saw him was a feeling I will never forget. I am grateful to have him as my Gastroenterologist. Thanks Dr. Awtrey for accepting me as one of your patients. Mrs. Cynthia O’Connor-Webb"

5.0 Review from B.V. Source: Google Aug 19 2021

"Dr. Awtrey, has been my GI doctor for several years now, he is dedicated, thoughtful, and very compassionate. He's always go above and beyond to make sure I am giving the medical attention needed to help me feel better, He work tirelessly, to fine the source of my pain until I achieve a healthy outcome. I feel so blessed to know Dr.Awtrey and have him as my doctor 💓."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Jul 27 2021

"Dr. Awtrey and his staff were very efficient and kind. I would recommend them."

5.0 Review from V.L. Source: Google Jul 23 2021

"Dr Awtrey was cordial and very clear on his explanation of the procedure and prep process. The staff were very helpful and respectful"

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Jul 22 2021

"Dr. Awtrey’s care is one of the best I have received. He and his office has followed up with me constantly after my test and procedures. I can’t ask for more then they have displayed. Thanks for your care!!!!’"

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google Jul 02 2021

"Dr. Awtrey is very knowledgeable, personable and thorough. He takes time with his patients and his care is excellent. I highly recommend him and his wonderful staff."

5.0 Review from G.;. Source: Google Jun 17 2021

"I will always be grateful that I was referred to dr. Richard Awtrey gastroenterology by my primary care doctor .very easy to communicate with listen to any question you may have and explain the problem in a way you can understand it. you can feel dr. Awtrey outgoing Spirit a very good caring person his staff is friendly and the wait time is not to long."

5.0 Review from R.R. Source: Google Jun 15 2021

"Great, doctor and wonderful staff both office and surgical staff."

5.0 Review from K.D. Source: Google Jun 14 2021

"Dr. Awtrey and the staff at MGA Gastrointestinal Diagnostic & Therapeutic Center were attentive, thoroughly professional, and pleasant to deal with in regards to my colonoscopy. I highly recommend this doctor and Metropolitan Gastroenterology Associates."

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Jun 08 2021

"My procedure went well it went so smooth I didn't even realize it was done and over staff was pleasant and helpful thanks for everything"

4.0 Review from M.P. Source: Google Jun 08 2021

"Dr. Awtrey is a no nonsense physician. He does what is to be done and bam Im on my way. Now that blonde nurse who did my IV was not so great. My arm is now a greenish color. She was too rough. I would send a photo but I not good at those things."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Jun 07 2021

"Always comes in with a smile and is willing to listen. Have been seeing Dr. Awtry for over 7 years and has always maintained the same pleasant Doctor/patient encounter. Would highly refer him to anyone in need."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Jun 07 2021

"Dr Awtrey is best his staff is great Stephanie & all others nurse are best I was scared but they really know how make you relax let know its going be okay I let' world know go see Dr Awtrey & his crew is 💯"

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google Jun 06 2021

"Dr Autry is a great doctor but more importantly he has a fantastic personality and wonderful bedside manner. He also gives you great feedback."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Jun 06 2021

"Excellent doctor. He and his staff are very professional and calming in helping me deal with a very unpleasant situation. I recommend Dr. Awtrey to anyone and everyone."

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google May 17 2021

"Dr. Awtrey and his staff are responsive and conscientious. They handled my case with sensitivity and professionalism. I highly recommend this practice group."

4.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google May 16 2021

"Dr. Awtrey is no doubt a professional in his field. However his time he spends with his patients prior to and after the procedure is swift and limited. Showing up late for our meet and greet with the look he just came out out surgery. The questions he asked were those of a surgeon. He was concerned how my medications and surgeries would affect him. Then being told to get with his staff and they will answer any questions. Post procedure while I was in recovery he simply walked by tapped me on the leg as if to see I was out of the anaesthetic and gave me the results. He was there between 10 and 15 seconds. Who was that masked man in green scrubs anyway. Colonoscopies to Dr. Awtrey is a business expect to get professional medical care with a minimum amount time spent communicating with the patient. Patrick Buchler Patient"

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google May 15 2021

"I was very impressed with Dr. Awtrey and his team. I definitely recommend him."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google May 04 2021

"Dr. Awtrey was responsive to my concerns and agreed to move my colonoscopy procedure up 3months From its recommended redo time due to the severity and long-standing time spand of my very disruptive and painful symptoms ! That is exceptional medical care, when your physician “really listens” to the serious concerns of his patients."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Apr 30 2021

"Dr. Awetry is one of the best. I drive from the North Shore to see him. He is one of the few MD’s who know’s some about the familia syndrome that I have."

5.0 Review from P.R. Source: Google Apr 22 2021

"I was treated so well. Dr. Awtry and staff were very courteous and helpful. I knew what to expect and anxiety was lessened."

5.0 Review from T.I. Source: Google Apr 13 2021

"From initial consult to procedure, Dr. Awtrey and his staff made me feel comfortable about an uncomfortable procedure."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Apr 13 2021

"Dr Autry and his staff are wonderful! Thorough as well as kind and thoughtful."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Apr 12 2021

"Dr Awtrey is amazing. I would and do recommend him to anyone looking for the best GI doctor in the city."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Apr 01 2021

"Dr. Awtrey and his team provided exceptional and professional care in a friendly and attentive manner. I was incredibly impressed by being in and out of my procedure in such a short amount of time, seamless, supported. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Apr 01 2021

"Dr. Awrtrey is very professional, explains things in layman's terms so you have a better understanding, and has very good bedside manner."

5.0 Review from I.M. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"Awesome physician, he is very caring!"

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Mar 19 2021

"Dr. Awtrey is hands down one of the best medical providers in our region. His expertise in gastroenterology is unmatched, and his bedside manner can’t be beat!"

5.0 Review from K.P. Source: Google Mar 10 2021

"Great doctor. Made me feel at ease."

5.0 Review from V.B. Source: Google Mar 10 2021

"Dr. Awtrey is one of the best. He has great bedside manners, his team was very pleasant as well. My experience with him was very good."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Feb 26 2021

"Dr. Awtrey is easy to talk to and genuinely cares about his patients. I have recommended him to every person I know. If you are looking for GI doc, Dr. Awtrey is your man!"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Feb 04 2021

"The staff and Dr. Awtrey were very polite and professional and i received excellent care and feedback from them before and after the procedure!"

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Feb 01 2021

"I first sought Dr. Awtrey's medical advice in July of 2020 and have been a very happy patient ever since. It's very awkward to talk about GI issues, but he made me feel very comfortable and was genuinely concerned about my condition. He has exceptional professional manners and I never feel like I'm being rushed in and out of the office. He is also someone I could work for and I'm not in the medical field. I would highly recommend him for Gastrointestinal care."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Feb 01 2021

"Dr. Awtrey is great. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from T.J. Source: Google Jan 31 2021

"He’s a very good doctor.... He was patient and listened to my concerns and needs..."

5.0 Review from E.N. Source: Google Jan 31 2021

"Excellent care. Dr. Awtrey and his staff made my husband and I feel so much more relaxed n explained Every step to us. Thank you all for ❤ caring!"

5.0 Review from K.R. Source: Google Jan 31 2021

"I believe, 100%, that Dr. Awtrey is the reason my son is alive. He guided us through the darkest time of our life with grace, compassion, humor, and intelligence. When literally everyone else was ready to give up, Dr. Awtrey kept trying. He is the best. We owe him everything."

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Jan 30 2021

"Super friendly and helpful. An overall great experience working with you guys! And thanks for the savings."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Jan 30 2021

"Awfully chipper and enthusiastic for so early in the morning. Made me smile despite 24 hours fasting and no coffee."

5.0 Review from C.O. Source: Google Jan 30 2021

"Dr. Awtrey was very professional an caring he took time to inform me of the procedure I was going to have with a wonderful bed side manner which allowed me to feel safe in his capable hands I’m telling everyone with GI problems to contact Dr.Awtrey this young man knows is stuff an has a humble mature he’s GOD SENT A PURE ANGEL"

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Oct 21 2020

"Dr. Awtrey and his staff take their time with you. They are not rushed and in a hurry to leave the room. I was very satisfied with my care and Dr Awtrey’s recommendations for me to try before having to do additional testing."

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Dec 10 2019

"My entire experience for a screening colonoscopy was amazing, from the intake by phone, to the mailings for prep, to the thorough reminders by text, to the pre op staff, to the anesthesia staff, to the post op staff, to the follow up call after the procedure. And Dr. Awtrey was incredibly attentive, kind, thorough, providing me with a full report before I left the procedure facility. I would definitely recommend Dr. Awtrey with Metropolitan Gastroenterology Associates without reservation. And the procedure facility at 2820 Napoleon Ave was convenient and organized."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Oct 10 2019

"Dr. Awtrey is a compassionate, down to earth, and knowledgeable doctor. I would recommend him 100%."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google May 14 2019

"Awesome physician and Staff- I was nervous about my screening colonoscopy- The nurses, nurse anesthetist, and Dr. Awtrey were all great. He reassured me that all would be fine and took great care of me. I will recommend Dr. Awtrey and Metro Gastroenterology to anyone who needs their services. From the first phone call to get scheduled, to the final call 2 days after the procedure was done, everyone in the center was professional and great. Thanks again Dr. Awtrey for taking such good care of me."