Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google May 24 2022

"I have been very pleased with Dr. Nina Merel and her staff. She was recommended to me by my primary physician many years back. I have not been disappointed with her bedside manner; she takes the time to speak with me before and after the procedure with calmness and professionalism. She explains everything thoroughly with graphics in addition to a game plan for improvement. I moved further away further from her office (45 minutes w/good traffic); However, I kept her as specialty physician because the service I receive is worth it."

5.0 Review from V.K. Source: Google Mar 30 2022

"I’ve known Dr. Merel for years. Highly recommend. She is thorough, professional, knowledgeable, experienced, attentive."

5.0 Review from J.V. Source: Google Mar 29 2022

"Very professional, patient with any questions I had and kindness displayed! A doctor with a heart!"

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google Feb 27 2022

"Thank you to an amazing staff pleasant & friendly very knowledgeable in their work ethics I would highly recommend this place."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Dec 25 2021

"I had a wonderful experience with the doctor, she very kind, sweet and well spoken. She is great listener and doesn’t hesitate to answer any questions.you have."

5.0 Review from F.K. Source: Google Dec 22 2021

"I really like Dr Merel. She listens closely to what I have to say about my health and concerns. She always makes practical suggestions and she treats me with respect and kindness. In today's world, it is rare to find a good doctor. Dr Merel is one of the best."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Dec 01 2021

"My internist originally referred me to Dr. Merel several years ago for a routine colonoscopy and endoscopy. She has since treated me for a few gastric problems. She is an excellent diagnostician and I wouldn't be here today had I not gone to see her. She is very caring and goes above and beyond in taking care of her patients. I wouldn't go to anyone else and I would strongly recommend her if youou are looking for an excellent gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from D.R. Source: Google Nov 30 2021

"Dr. Merel has a warm and friendly bedside manner. She makes you fell comfortable in “uncomfortable “ Circumstances. She takes the time to make sure you understand everything and always takes the time to answer your questions. I’ve been going to Dr.. Merel for a few years and have since moved quite a distance away. I have no intentions of finding a new doctor out here! I have great confidence in her."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Oct 14 2021

"Dr. Nina Merel is wonderful, her team is as well, they are professional, efficient and very nice to work with. Each step in the process is fully explained, questions asked were addressed right away, the timeline was adhered too also. Each person involved explained their role as it pertained to the procedure. This was the second time I utilized Dr. Merel and Glen Endoscopy we're the only professionals I considered when it was time for a second visit. I would highly recommend these professionals to any one and in fact have made several referrals to friends. Thank you."

5.0 Review from M. Source: Google Oct 04 2021

"Nina merel is a great dr and has helped me a lot with my issues. I would recommend her !"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Sep 19 2021

"Dr. Merel and her staff run a super efficient operation all while providing an exceptionally high level of care."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Aug 18 2021

"I have been a patient of Dr. Merel’s for quite a few years now. I have total trust in her and she has always explained every question I could possibly have about whatever procedure I’m having. I even had my granddaughter call her for a procedure. She is kind yet professional And no matter what the question she never makes you feel awkward. Thank you Dr. Merel"

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google Aug 10 2021

"Dr. Nina is amazing. Very caring and extremely knowledgeable. Even the prep is gentle! She's wonderful to work with. No fears with her as my doc."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Jul 28 2021

"Based on my office visit as a new patient, I found Dr. Merel to be personable and smart. She listened patiently and explained issues and procedures clearly. Her office was well run and the scheduler was exceptionally friendly and helpful."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Jul 14 2021

"Dr. Merel is a wonderful doctor. She is compassionate, caring, gentle and excellent at her job. She has been taking care of me since 2002. I would recommend her highly to anyone who might ask."

5.0 Review from J.O. Source: Google Jul 13 2021

"Excellent care by everyone there."

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google Jun 19 2021

"Dr Merel is a caring, compassionate physician. She listens, makes suggestions and helps you to make a plan that works for you. She’s also willing to try different approaches for a successful outcome"

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Jun 19 2021

"She listened to my concerns. Offered several suggestions and requested I call to keep her updated."

5.0 Review from V.G. Source: Google Jun 12 2021

"Dr Merel is the best. Caring doctor who does listen."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google May 16 2021

"I have been with Dr. Merel for over 15 years and I have come to trust her. She not only knows her stuff, she genuinely cares about her patients and they know it."

5.0 Review from E.W. Source: Google Feb 01 2021

"I highly recommend Dr. Nina H. Merel. She is an excellent doctor with the Illinois Gastroenterology Group. She takes time with her patients and explains things so you can understand. Dr. Merel has performed two successful procedures on me, a colonoscopy and a endoscopy. I have much confidence in her abilities."

5.0 Review from K.O. Source: Google Jan 01 2021

"Dr. Merel squeezed me in for a telemedicine appt and as usual, was kind, patient and answered all my concerns and questions. Her staff responded quickly to my request for an appt and was excellent at following up with me to confirm that time and dates worked. You can’t find a better Dr. and support team."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Dec 31 2020

"I have had a lot of doctors in my past, and she is hands-down one of the best doctors I have ever been a patient of. I feel like she truly listens to me and cares about me and my well-being. She is extremely knowledgeable and will do everything she can to help you."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Nov 03 2020

"Dr. Merel and her staff are very kind and caring."

5.0 Review from D.R. Source: Google Sep 03 2020

"Very caring and thorough."

5.0 Review from L.L. Source: Google Oct 04 2018

"Dr. Merel was very accommodating & reassuring both during my office visit and procedure. Not to mention The Glen Endoscopy Center was quick, supportive, clean, & most of all everyone I interacted with was kind."

5.0 Review from E.R. Source: Google Mar 16 2016

"Dr. Merel and her group saw me on an emergency basis in March of 2016. With red tape from my blue cross blue shield health insurance I was getting overwhelmed from all ends. Dr merel and her staff navigated the health insurance issues like champions and quickly gave me world class health care. I can't thank the group enough ! Much gratitude Earl b Ruthman chicago Illinois"