Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Mitchell Bensen,M.D. & the staff at Alexian Brothers took good care of me. It was a pleasant experience with the doctors and staff. Sincerely, Kenneth Kalis"

5.0 Review from R.F. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Easy procedure - efficient office. Well organized staff."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"Very thorough. Extremely helpful"

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Jan 13 2024

"There are very professional people working in GI."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"Dr. Bernsen is knowledgable, transparent, and has a very good approach to explaining procedures and their benefits."

5.0 Review from K.P. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"Thanks for your help to treat me."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"Happy with the service."

5.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google Nov 22 2023

"Good experience and very helpful as to my situation. Dr very professional"

5.0 Review from S. Source: Google Nov 11 2023

"I had my surgery with Dr Mitchell Bernsen on October 31, 2023 , which I am so happy I had it done , because I always thought something is wrong with me and thank God my expert and nice Surgeon after the successful surgery he gave me a good news that everything is good and I have no problems. I would like to appreciate the good work from him and his team and his kind nurse by name Joy ."

5.0 Review from K.H. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"I’ve been coming to Dr. Mitchell Bernsen for over 20+ years. I couldn’t be happier"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Nov 01 2023

"Friendly staff. Easy parking. Dr is very helpful and knowledgeable. Highly recommended."

4.0 Review from B. Source: Google Oct 20 2023

"Easy to speak to."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Oct 06 2023

"Dr. Bernsen took the time to explain everything and answer all my questions. I highly recommend him!"

4.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Sep 27 2023

"The actual appointment went very well. The office staff were friendly and very efficient. My meeting with the doctor was brief, but my issue was discussed and a treatment plan set in place. The main issue was trying to get through via phone to the main desk. I tried for a week. Kept putting me into a hold pattern then it said leave a voicemail. Which I did several times and never got a return phone call. I then went online and set up an appointment request and finally got a phone call. Not sure what the situation was as the office seemed adequately staffed when I was there."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Aug 18 2023

"I highly recommend Dr. Bernsen and his medical team for the exceptional way in which they carried out my colonoscopy. Before the exam, I received detailed instructions--over the phone when I made the appointment, in a follow-up email, and during a phone call several days before the exam--which completely prepared me. Leading up to the exam, the nurses and the anesthesiologist were so helpful. I'm impressed with the way Dr. Bernsen explained what would happen beforehand, how he conducted the procedure efficiently and skillfully, and how he gave me the results with photographs of my large intestine. I am so grateful!"

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Jul 28 2023

"Great experience, doctor, and stuff"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Jul 21 2023

"Dr.Bernsen is hands down one of the best. He has a great bed side manner. He also explains everything to you in detail. You can tell he cares. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google Jul 21 2023

"Love Dr Bernsen’s bedside manner and the staff for putting me at ease!"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Jul 11 2023

"Everything was very professional, and to the point which I appreciate instructions were clear mannerisms was very professional and personal"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Jul 09 2023

"From the moment I arrived in the office, the staff was welcoming & friendly. Dr Bernsen answered all of my questions, walked me through everything I needed to know and was patient with all of my concerns. I feel confident about my choice to come here."

5.0 Review from T.O. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Very pleasant visit"

5.0 Review from J.N. Source: Google Jun 16 2023

"Everything went fantastic, the doctor and his staff were all very wonderful and helpful! I am very thankful for all their help."

5.0 Review from N.S. Source: Google May 25 2023

"Great experience with doctor and nurse"

5.0 Review from M.“. Source: Google May 25 2023

"Mitchell Bernsen is a great doctor and person."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google May 18 2023

"Pleasant experience beginning to end. Felt relaxed whole time very professional"

5.0 Review from T.K. Source: Google May 11 2023

"I highly recommend Dr Bernsen. He has an excellent bedside manner. He listens well and responds to questions and concerns respectfully and thoroughly. My procedure went very well, and the process was expedient, quick, and very well done."

5.0 Review from N.R. Source: Google Apr 27 2023

"Dr Bernsen is very knowledgeable. I had my first visit and feel he is determined to figure out what is going on with me and help me start feeling better."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Apr 27 2023

"Great Doctor gets to problem and comes up with a solution"

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Dr. Bernsen is knowledgeable, kind, concise and reassuring. I chose to go back to him for a second procedure after having a positive experience the first time. He is punctual and considerate of his patients’ time and needs. I highly recommend this doctor!"

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr Bernsen is the absolute best expert when it comes to any type of gastrointestinal issue you are facing. Very calming and concerned about finding the fastest most effective, least invasive solution for your problem. Great Doctor you can trust. Five Stars"

5.0 Review from H.E. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr. Bernsen was friendly and thorough. All the Drs in the pratice are wonderful"

5.0 Review from V.K. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"DR BERNSEN ... KNOWLEDGEABLE, ON TIME FOR APPOINTMENT...."

5.0 Review from Z.O. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"First time I had a video call with a doctor. It was a good experience. Dr. Bernsen was patient and listened to what I had to say before making a diagnosis. I recommend Dr. Bensen."

5.0 Review from I.S. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Doctor was very helpful with my situation, order any test that I needed to figured out my problem. Very nice people at the desk."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Bernseb was very professional, understanding and concern about my health Thank you and i will come back to see him as well recommended to others"

5.0 Review from F.A. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Bernsen is a fine physician. He literally saved my life during a gut bleed out of which the attending staff later said, “You don’t know how lucky you are. None of us had ever seen so much blood.” In addition to his competence he is personable, human, available and interested in me and all my life circumstances."

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Bernson has always been a caring and compassionate clinician. He always addresses my concerns quickly and thoroughly. I recommend him highly."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Bernsen is the best!"

5.0 Review from N.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Answered all my question so I understood"

5.0 Review from K.E. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I recently had to have an office visit with Dr. Bernsen before my colonoscopy. It was nice to see him since it has been 5 years but I haven’t been required to do the visit for a long time. I have no symptoms & he has my history but apparently this is a new requirement. It wasn’t a big inconvenience because his office is near. All the information gathered could have been handled over the phone. Everyone was pleasant & efficient."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Excellent care. I have been seeing Dr.Bernsen for a while and it is always a good visit, as well Donna (nurse assistant)10 out of 10 highly recommended."

5.0 Review from H.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Schedule is on time no waiting, very professional team work, very caring nurses, Thank you."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"So happy with my experience with Dr. Bernsen! I had been referred by a family member and felt welcome to the office from the moment I stepped in. Reception was so kind to me and extremely helpful in setting up my online portal, quick to respond and give me a call back. Dr. Bernsen himself has been understanding, reassuring and educational throughout my experience. I was never afraid to ask any additional questions and I never felt rushed or that my concerns were dismissed. I would certainly recommend him to my friends and family!"

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Bernsen has been my gastro Dr. for over 20 years. I am very pleased with his professionalism and knowledge. He will always get right to the point."

5.0 Review from C.I. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I got a colonoscopy done today with Dr Bernsen. I was very satisfied with his bedside manners, and his staff. Everyone was very pleasant! I'm so happy I found a GI doctor I feel I can trust!"

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Did what needed to be done on time."

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Patient feels at ease speaking about any health issue and gives a straightforward plan of action."

5.0 Review from T.O. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I enjoyed Dr. Bernsen's no-nonsense approach. He recently performed an upper GI endoscopy on me. Bottom line: Dr. Bernsen, Donna (nurse assistant) and Sherry (my friendly nurse in the endoscopy room) provided A+ service and follow up. ​"

5.0 Review from S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"My colonoscopy experience went very well! Dr Bernsen is very attentive and kind. He took the time to explain things and answered my questions. Would highly recommend going to him!"

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Bernsen listened intently to my problem and we had it solved in a matter of minutes ."

5.0 Review from G.S. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Bernsen takes excellent care of me as well as my entire family. He is very attentive to our needs and an excellent physician."

5.0 Review from K.F. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr Bernsen has very helpful for me. He saved me from an unnecessary surgery prescribed by a previous Doctor. He has a no nonsense approach and his staff are all excellent. I am so glad I am under his care."

5.0 Review from P.D. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Excellent"

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"The colonoscopy experience was completely professional and efficient. Dr Bernsen and his staff made the entire process easy and comfortable. The procedure was started on schedule and completed in a very timely manner."

4.0 Review from E.M. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Doctor is knowledgeable and patient in answering my questions. I'm very satisfied with his answers."

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I found Dr. Bernsen to be a health care professional that I feel I can trust. He listened very carefully to my concerns and asked questions to better understand how I was feeling. I found him very easy to talk to and felt he really cared. I would recommend Dr. Bernsen to those in of a gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Absolutely amazing doctor."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Friendly, great bedside manner and has a great sense of humor."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Took a lot of time gathering information, great bedside manor."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great doc. Personable and is genuinely interested in my well being."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Bernsen is super nice. He listens, and is considerate and calm. He's got a good sense of humor as well."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Bernsen was professional and efficient. A colonoscopy is not the most interactive of procedures. However Dr. Bernsen took time to answer questions prior to the procedure and was thorough in explaining the findings. I would highly recommend Dr. Bernsen."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Bernsen has diagnosed my symptoms correctly, sending me to the ER when I had Cdiff. Thank you Dr Bernsen."

5.0 Review from T.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The doctor was very personable and took the time to explain my procedure step-by-step."

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Explain my care a way that I understood"

5.0 Review from C.F. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Bernsen is very professional and thorough. He made feel at ease at the consultation for a very uncomfotable procedure. I highly recomend him."

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Needed a second opinion and found Dr Bernsen. Everything from speaking with the staff to make the appointment, to the Nurse assistant to Dr Bernsen himself was a very pleasant experience. Dr Bernsen listened to what I had to say and explained my condition in understandable terms to me. He let me know what he thought and what he suggested I do. Extremely understanding and I check back with him in a few months. Thank you"

5.0 Review from B.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Bernsen really listened to my description on issues I was experiencing and provided a plan to find a solution."

5.0 Review from B.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Bernsen is fantastic! I highly recommend him if you need a gastroenterologist. I’d give 6 stars if I could!"

5.0 Review from A.O. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Bernsen is a phenomenal doctor. I am speaking as Dr. Bernsen’s patient but also as a medical provider. I came to see Dr. Bernsen for second opinion after seeing someone else for 7years. I was hesitent of leaving my previous doctor because you get attached. However, I knew I was not getting the symptom relief or quality of life I deserved. My ulcerative colitis was simply not treated. Now, boy am I thankful I saw Dr. Bernsen. For the first time I saw a light at the end of my tunnel. If anyone has moderate to severe ulcerative colitis, you know how bothersome signs and symptoms get, how drained and hopeless you can feel. Long story short, you do not feel yourself. Can’t enjoy food, have normal bowel movements, plus your social life, mood and sleep is affected. I’m thankful because Dr. Bernsen took care of me. He offered me medications my previous provider never mentioned. And after 1 tablet of prednisone Dr.Bernsen prescribed, my symptoms improved drastically. I can not say enough of how thankful I am of getting my life back. All my ulcerative colitis signs and symptoms resolved after incorporating a new treatment plan. I can eat normal again, have my energy back, and I do not need to worry about having a bathroom close by. A very grateful patient, A.Opiela"

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Everyone there is very professional and kind"

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Appointment was on time. All staff and dr were friendly and listened to my needs and symptoms. All questions were answered thoroughly by the dr."

5.0 Review from V.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Bernsen was professional and knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from W.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Bernsen is a good listener and practical in his concern."

5.0 Review from J.N. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very thorough, careful and they explain Covid protocols clearly."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Everyone here is absolutely beyond caring and nice! The facility is super clean, and they get you in quickly. Everyone I’ve met has a great personalities. I highly recommend it here!"

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Great Dr! . Very good people skills . Very helpful to questions that needed to be answered. Would recommend highly."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Bernsen is really fantastic, I’ve been a patient of his for over 20 years. He takes his time to explain things to you in a language you can understand. He is also a very nice and compassionate Dr unlike so many others out there. I highly recommend Dr Mitchell Bernsen with 100% confidence."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I had a really bad past experience with a GI doctor. Dr. Bernsen did his best to put my mind at ease. He was very sympathetic about my concern. I had to be scoped by a certain time. Dr. Bernsen squeezed me into his busy schedule. I will highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from P.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I have been a patient of doctor Bernsen since 2012. I can attest to his competency as well as the people who work in his facility. Nothing but good to say about my experiences."

4.0 Review from S.O. Source: Google May 25 2021

"It was a positive experience"

5.0 Review from R.F. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Bernsen is a consummate professional. He thoroughly looked at my wife's history and suggested a method of examination that took into consideration her specific health issues. He calmly, confidently, thoroughly and reassuringly advised us about the upcoming colonoscopy which gave us peace of mind. I was so impressed that I will be scheduling my own colonoscopy with Dr. Bernsen this fall. Just wanted to add and update that my wife had her colonoscopy with Dr. Bernsen and it went extremely smoothly and Dr. Bernsen continued his care in a very cordial and professional manner."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google May 25 2020

"I have really appreciated Dr. Bersen's skill and professionalism in his interactions with me! I would and do recommend him to any of my friends!"