Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google May 24 2022

"Dr Shelton and his staff are organized, diligent to make patients feel welcome and positive. They return calls and the experiences are smooth. I can’t believe he remembers me when I go in, as many people as they see, but he does! Excellent, professional care!"

5.0 Review from P.L. Source: Google May 12 2022

"Absolutely the best Doctor. Kind, caring and takes his time answering any questions you have. Too Notch Doc!"

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Apr 18 2022

"I have been very blessed to have Dr Shelton . I have seen him for several years . I truly feel if it weren't for Dr Shelton , I wouldn't be alive ."

5.0 Review from A.H. Source: Google Apr 07 2022

"Extremely professional people at each level. People that care about their patients and r not just going thru the motions. And as an added benefit they run on time. No having to wait forever after they insist that you be there on time."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Mar 16 2022

"Love this Dr. He fixed my problem when no one else could."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Mar 10 2022

"Dr Shelton is very easy to talk to and ask questions, he goes over what will take place when he performs your colon test."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Mar 05 2022

"Dr. Shelton had me scheduled for an endoscopy within a week of my initial consultation. I am very pleased, and would like to thank him for his excellent care."

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Google Mar 05 2022

"Dr.Shelton and his office personnel are always pleasant and helpful. Good service and attention. I was fortunate to have been put under his care. I seriously believe that he is the reason I am still on this earth. One seriously smart doctor. Knows his stuff."

4.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Mar 01 2022

"I am very pleased with Dr Sheldon. He got right on my problem and started running test the week I went to him I had to come back in to see him on a problem I’m having. He worked me in within a day of me calling to see if there was anyway I could get in. He came in and told me 2 or 3 things that it could be. Never has he ever rushed me in and out. Explains things you can understand. And again got right on it to have a test ran. I’m so happy that I get to have him for my gastroenterologist . Carol Harris"

5.0 Review from K.D. Source: Google Feb 23 2022

"What a great experience! Dr. Shelton is top notch and has a wonderful bedside manner. His office staff is great as well. He is very personable and so sweet"

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Feb 01 2022

"Dr Shelton is an extremely kind doctor who is always looking out for what is best for me, his patient. Though he's only been my gastroenterologist for about 4 years, he has spent countless hours going over tests, surgeries and so forth to provide the best care for my future."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Jan 22 2022

"Dr Shelton is professional and thorough. His team was great."

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google Jan 22 2022

"Dr. Shelton and his staff were very kind and helpful. My appointment was right on time very efficient team and all very caring and friendly. I highly recommend Dr. Shelton and his staff."

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Jan 16 2022

"Being a physician myself, I pay attention to details in an office. My wait was not unusual for a GI office. The office is clean. The staff is very attentive and courteous. Dr. Shelton was very good and I would recommend his without hesitation."

5.0 Review from B.T. Source: Google Jan 09 2022

"I found Dr Shelton to be very thorough, and willing to take the time to listen to my concerns and answer my questions.I would recommend."

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google Dec 24 2021

"Dr Shelton is very open and answers all my questions directly and with no BS. I appreciate that. He spends as much time talking to me as I need and makes sure all my questions are answered before I leave."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Dec 24 2021

"I recently moved to Florida and am coming back to Texas for my Colonoscopy. I have been seeing Dr. Shelton for a number of years. He has performed more Colonoscopies than I can remember, as I've had a few pre-cancerous polyps. I guess it should scare me, but I feel totally comfortable with Dr. Shelton taking care of me. Always calm, cool and collected. Very thorough, focused and easy to understand. Will continue traveling to see him as long as I can."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Dec 09 2021

"Dr. Shelton and his staff are very professional and get straight to the point. Everything is explained in detail and all questions are answered promptly. Highly recommend his practice."

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google Nov 07 2021

"Dr. Shelton is a very good doctor. He has a wonderful bed side manner and will spend as much time with you as needed. I have recommended him to many of my family and friends."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Nov 04 2021

"Dr. Shelton is kind and compassionate. He makes sure you understand what he has told you and he really does care about his Patients. His assistants are always kind and respectful also."

5.0 Review from G.F. Source: Google Oct 13 2021

"Great Doctor staff very nice"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Oct 04 2021

"Dr Shelton loves his specialty and it shows. He’s interested, very thorough & knowledgeable, & he takes the time to share information with his patients. My husband and I both recommend him highly."

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Oct 03 2021

"Doctor and nurse are very kind. Make patient feels better, Any question they answer very clear and understandable that why i live in Arlington i come to visit their office in forth worth 25 miles away"

5.0 Review from N.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2021

"Dr.Shelton is a very compassionate physician. He truly cares for his patients. He took quality time with me on my health concerns.. He's very detailed oriented and took every avenue to help me. I highly recommend Dr. Joseph Shelton. He's a good man!"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Sep 22 2021

"Dr. Shelton is personable and he remembers you as a person not just as a patient and I will not go to anyone else for my internal exams."

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Sep 11 2021

"Dr Shelton saved my life 4 years ago in an emergency. He is a very good Doctor, and has a kind heart. You’ll be pleased with his care and expertise."

5.0 Review from E.G. Source: Google Sep 11 2021

"Dr. Shelton and his staff were amazing. They were pleasant and very welcoming in my initial visit. They outlined all the details and we’re in constant communication with me prior to surgery. I was constantly attended to during surgery and I was impressed with the staffs interaction with me. I would recommend Dr. Shelton and his team to anyone."

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Aug 20 2021

"Dr. Shelton ensured that I was informed of all tests. He followed with a phone call to give all results personally and even called my personal physician. He took his time to cover all the information. I was very satisfied with the Center as well."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Aug 20 2021

"Dr. Shelton is one of the most caring sincere and knowledgeable doctors I have ever used. A person who can use Dr. Shelton is blessed to have that opportunity."

5.0 Review from H.T. Source: Google Aug 11 2021

"Dr Shelton the very best. Professional and skilled physician. Wonderful bedside manner."

5.0 Review from T.P. Source: Google Aug 05 2021

"I have been with Dr. Shelton for a few years now and my liver and I appreciate him for all his help in making us healthier."

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Aug 05 2021

"TOP NOTCH Doc and Staff"

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Jul 28 2021

"Dr. Shelton performed an endoscopy after first referring me for an upper GI. While waiting to get the upper GI scheduled, he reviewed my medications and adjusted some while prescribing other medication to provide relief for my burning stomach and esophagus. After the endoscopy, he immediately phoned my wife to review the results. Of course, his staff followed strict Covid protocol and still thoroughly reviewed the results. Dr. Shelton has been my gastroenterologist for a number of years. He’s thorough, cautious and always careful to provide guidance and medical diagnosis. I highly recommend Dr. Shelton."

5.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google Jul 18 2021

"Dr Shelton has been treating me for over 4 years. He always takes the time to explain everything thoroughly and we discuss different options for treatment. He always listens and addresses any concerns i have. I would highly recommend him and he has helped me immensely."

5.0 Review from B.G. Source: Google Jul 14 2021

"Dr Shelton has been my Dr. For years , 3 Colonoscopys and no problems ! His office is located across the hall from the procedure clinic so it is very convenient."

5.0 Review from H.V. Source: Google Jul 01 2021

"Dr Shelton was very thorough in explaining how the procedure worked. He was very easy to talk to about my issue"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Jun 23 2021

"Dr. Shelton is the most caring and attentive doctor I have ever had. He takes the time to listen to you and find solutions."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Jun 08 2021

"Very professional and quick to let you know when they get results."

5.0 Review from C.J. Source: Google Jun 05 2021

"Dr. Shelton is the most amazing dr I've ever been too. Very thorough, kind, friendly, and compassionate."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google May 21 2021

"I highly recommend Dr. Joseph Shelton and his staff. He is always available to take my calls and scheduled either an in-house or virtual visit. Dr. Shelton is a very skilled physician and it is my pleasure to recommend him to anyone searching for a gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from F.E. Source: Google May 20 2021

"My daughter is a patient of Dr. JOSEPH SHELTON. I would highly recommend him to any one that is looking for gastroenterologist. He has excellent knowledge of his patients and is also willing to help with the medical concerns that we have been faced with. Thanks you also to his Staff."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 18 2021

"I have been going to dr. Shelton for many years but never consider to go to any anywhere else this last time he had a shadow with him and I noticed how well he was teaching this younger person the art of doctoring he is easy to talk to and covers all of my concerns"

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google May 01 2021

"The staff is very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Dr. Shelton made me feel comfortable , safe and at ease before my procedure and afterwards. I would highly recommend him"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Apr 11 2021

"Very good manner in speaking to me"

5.0 Review from T.L. Source: Google Apr 10 2021

"Always conscientious, kind, caring and thorough. Love Dr. Shelton and his office staff, Misty is the best."

5.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google Apr 02 2021

"Dr. Joseph Shelton is my gastrointerologist, and has been for many years. He takes time to get to know his patients and is very thorough. As a patient with a rare condition, physicians like Dr. Shelton are vital to longevity and quality of life in patients like me. He really takes the time explain, in detail, recommended treatments, and listen to and answer any questions to ensure my full understanding. With his expertise and carefully developed regimen of treatment, we are able to remain ahead of events seen with my condition. I highly recommend Dr. Shelton and the wonderful staff who support him; I consider a blessing they are a part of my care team."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Mar 29 2021

"Dr. Shelton, he very caring and concerned our healthy. Staff work in front office are very friendly, cooperation awesome."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Mar 27 2021

"Dr. Shelton did an amazing job in my case. I was surprised how accessable he is, considering the size of his practice. With my case, I had a very unusual reaction to a medication that was prescribed. Amazingly Dr. Shelton took a considerable amount of time researching the side-effects of the medication in an effort to educate himself and his colleagues to reduce or eliminate future occurences. He provided amazing care and I will say that my medical family took a considerable amount of time researching him to provide for my specific medical needs. They chose an outstanding medical professional."

5.0 Review from B.T. Source: Google Mar 11 2021

"Dr Shelton is top notch, very smart and down to earth doctor. The staff at the facility are also nice friendly and professional. I highly recommend Dr Shelton and his staff."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Feb 25 2021

"I highly recommend Dr. Shelton. I have been a patient for several years. He is caring and concerned about your health. He and his staff are very professional and friendly. He explains how and why what procedures he is recommending. I feel fortunate that he is my doctor. JW"

4.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Feb 24 2021

"Dr. Shelton did an endoscopy on me. I trust him."

5.0 Review from D.Y. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"Dr. Shelton spent all the time I needed to discuss my health needs. Answered all my questions and concerns and seems compassionate for my needs. Dr. Shelton never appeared rushed to move on to the next patient and he was totally focused on me."

5.0 Review from N.Y. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"Dr Shelton and his nurse were very pleasant and made me feel at ease. ."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Feb 06 2021

"Well, I do believe Dr.Shelton is trying to get to the bottom of my husband’s problem. He will be so glad when everything is under control. We are now waiting for the medication to come in; the pharmacy didn’t have it in stock. Dr. Shelton’s staff (Misty) have always been helpful."

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google Jan 27 2021

"If you are looking for a GI doctor who cares, will research to get to the root cause, and has an amazing staff (Misty) to support him, this your doctor. He also has a great bedside manner. It may take a while to get that initial appointment, if so, see his PA. She is also amazing, caring, and knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Jan 03 2021

"Excellent and professional care. Handled my case very quickly"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Dec 18 2020

"Dr Shelton’s office staff is friendly and efficient. Waiting time is usually minimal. Dr Shelton is friendly but professional and he listens and tries to answer all questions I have. He is always attentive and helpful. After a visit with him I feel confident that my concerns have been addressed and any treatment prescribed will be to my advantage."

5.0 Review from A.W. Source: Google Dec 18 2020

"Dr. Shelton is very caring and listens to his patients. He got me in quickly to have an EGD."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Dec 16 2020

"Dr. Shelton’s office goes the extra mile for my mother Lillian every time she needs medical attention. He’s awesome and so is his assistant Misty."

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Dec 03 2020

"Dr Shelton really cares about his patients. He got me in during a real time crunch. I feel so much better knowing he is overseeing my care. I would highly recommend him!"

4.0 Review from F.M. Source: Google Dec 03 2020

"I was very pleased with Dr.Shelton services and his staff was very caring."

5.0 Review from V.M. Source: Google Nov 27 2020

"Tddc is a great place and dr Shelton is wonderful. I have been a patient since 1998."

5.0 Review from N.P. Source: Google Nov 26 2020

"I have been a patient of Dr. Shelton for 15 years and will continue to be for years to come. He is extremely knowledgeable and skilled, always up to date on science and therapies. Add to this his genuine caring for and personal knowledge of his patients, empathy and sympathy and your doctor’s visit is a pleasant experience. His assistant and staff are kind and attentive, too."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2020

"This was my first time seeing Dr. Shelton, my Dr. had retired. I was very impressed , answered all questions and gave answers in terms I could understand. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from R.Y. Source: Google Nov 24 2020

"Dr. Shelton was very easy to talk with. He also took the time to review my medical history. He didn't make me feel rushed or as if I was just a number. I really believe they care about their patients. Highly recommend this doctor!"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Oct 16 2020

"Very pleased with this Dr and his knowledge of digestive issues. He has finally diagnosed my issue when others had no idea what was wrong. He is very thorough in questioning symptoms."

5.0 Review from A.H. Source: Google Oct 12 2020

"Office staff very nice and Dr. Shelton is amazing! Very thorough and an expert in his field."

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Aug 03 2020

"Was very satisfied with Dr Shelton and would recommend him"

5.0 Review from M.V. Source: Google Jan 28 2020

"Dr Shelton and his assistants have always treated me with great care. He goes out of his way to keep me well. He is a superior doctor. I am so fortunate to be under his care."

5.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google Dec 20 2019

"Dr. Shelton has been my gastro dr. for 6+ years. He is extremely trust worthy and abides by "first do no harm" . I am thankful to have found him."

5.0 Review from P.L. Source: Google Dec 17 2019

"Need the pharmacy called with script for stomach acid pills."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Dec 10 2019

"Dr. Shelton is very thorough and asks many questions and explains in as much detail as needed to make you feel at ease. Support staff is helpful and informative also."

5.0 Review from G.N. Source: Google Nov 18 2019

"Wait time was a little longer than I hoped, however everything else was glitch free. The nurses were fantastic. Were I a younger, single man I would’ve tried for a phone number. Just wish all medical experiences were that professional and friendly."

5.0 Review from W.P. Source: Google Oct 10 2019

"My wife and I were very thankful to be able to see Dr. Shelton. His knowledge and attention to detail made us feel that we were in very capable hands. The staff is excellent as well. We are looking forward to wellness under his care."

5.0 Review from N.W. Source: Google Oct 07 2019

"Dr Shelton is a wonderful GI doctor. He listens to you about your illnesses & has a lot of patience. He has a compassionate bedside manner. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from F.S. Source: Google Sep 23 2019

"Dr. Shelton and his staff are very professional, pleasant, and thorough. He is very caring and considerate—explains all the options for treatment that are available, and which ones he prefers and why—very honest. He is patient and very skilled with the procedures. He is also considerate about the cost of the various options"

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google Sep 23 2019

"People and facilities are excellent"

5.0 Review from N.G. Source: Google Sep 21 2019

"The staff is really friendly and helpful, this was my 1st visit and I would recommend TDDC to anyone needing stomach issues taken care of."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Jul 29 2019

"Dr. Shelton took time to address all my concerns and answer all my questions. The exam and consultation was fairly quick, not a lot of time waiting. Very efficient."

5.0 Review from E.T. Source: Google Jun 14 2019

"Dr Shelton is very thorough and kind, he makes you feel like you are his only patient of the day."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Feb 10 2019

"The nurses were very polite and informative. Dr. Shelton was very approachable and explained everything to me. I now feel very informed and know exactly why Im having a colonoscopy."

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Feb 08 2019

"Dr. Shelton is an exceptional physician and a wonderful human being who genuinely cares for his patients. He will answer every question thoroughly and ensure you are completely comfortable with your medical procedure. I don't think I could give a higher recommendation for any other doctor."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google Jan 29 2019

"I been a patient of Dr. Shelton for 9 years and he listen to you and what kind of problem you are having, He' not in a hurry when he is with you, Before I see Dr. Shelton, I want to say to Missy Dr. Shelton assistance Thank you for everything you do when I Call in to ask a question, Thank to all the staff."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Nov 18 2018

"Dr. Shelton is awesome, very professional, he took time to listen to all my symptoms, and explained things to me and I didnt feel rushed when asking him questions. Staff is very nice. The wait to see him for new patients is a little long but he is worth that wait. (I was not having severe problems is why I chose to wait)Definitely would recommend Dr. Shelton."

4.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Nov 13 2018

"Very friendly staff and Dr was knowledgeable and took time to explain to me"

5.0 Review from C.T. Source: Google Nov 13 2018

"I am just thrilled that I was referred to Dr. Joseph Shelton. Him and his staff are excellent at their jobs."

5.0 Review from P.E. Source: Google Sep 27 2018

"In my 25 year battle with Gastrointestinal disease I have consulted with close to a dozen Gastro Doctors in Different cities at different times. All of them have been competent, some reputedly the top person in Houston etc., however, none have surpassed Dr. Shelton and his staff! They have responded appropriately and quickly to every request, followed up and extended assistance beyond that which is thei responsibility to any patient! They have helped tailor medications in a maner which has made them effective and affordable based on my insurance and financial concerns! Dr. Shelton has taken as much time as I needed to go over the state of my condition as well as to cover any concerns I might have with my illness or the medications to treat them. His staff has been unwaveringly kind, informative, responsive and patient with my inquiries and requests. I rate this practice highly based on my experience and intend to continue with them in fighting this disease to insure the best possible quality of life, with their continued care!"

5.0 Review from P.E. Source: Google Sep 27 2018

"In my 25 year battle with Gastrointestinal disease I have consulted with close to a dozen Gastro Doctors in Different cities at different times. All of them have been competent, some reputedly the top person in Houston etc., however, none have surpassed Dr. Shelton and his staff! They have responded appropriately and quickly to every request, followed up and extended assistance beyond that which is thei responsibility to any patient! They have helped tailor medications in a maner which has made them effective and affordable based on my insurance and financial concerns! Dr. Shelton has taken as much time as I needed to go over the state of my condition as well as to cover any concerns I might have with my illness or the medications to treat them. His staff has been unwaveringly kind, informative, responsive and patient with my inquiries and requests. I rate this practice highly based on my experience and intend to continue with them in fighting this disease to insure the best possible quality of life, with their continued care!"

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Sep 12 2018

"Efficient staff, pleasant atmosphere, Dr. Shelton is knowledgeable, kind, informative. He wants the patient to completely understand what is happening. Recommend him to anyone"

5.0 Review from N.A. Source: Google Sep 04 2018

"Dr Shelton and staff are very professional, efficient and friendly."

5.0 Review from G.A. Source: Google Aug 28 2018

"Dr. Shelton is Great! Going through some pretty serious health issues when my doctor referred me to him he personally contacted me 30 minutes after leaving my doctors office. He set me up an appointment for the following morning on his time. Explained everything very clearly and made me feel comfortable. I am very appreciative to him and his team."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Aug 27 2018

"Excellent professional service by Dr. Shelton and his staff."

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Aug 15 2018

"Dr. Shelton took all the time necessary to explain and listen to my situation. The office staff was very knowledgeable and friendly."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Aug 14 2018

"I have been seeing Dr Shelton for 15 years and I will never go any where else."