Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Feb 14 2024

"Dr. Runnels is great and love how he works in a suit.. And he cares about his patients and their health can't ask for a better and wonderful doctor ❤️."

5.0 Review from B.Y. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"James Yarbrough was pleased with his visit with Dr. Runnels who explained very clearly what the procedure would be to get a proper diagnosis for the pain in his left side."

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Jan 27 2024

"This facility is amazing. Clean and neat. Modern facility. The staff is super amazing. Real Doctor and nurse mannerisms. I felt cared for from the check in til the wheelchair assist roll out tge door. This is my home for all of my GI care. Thank you all!"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Jan 21 2024

"From pre-admission to post procedure, this facility is first class. Dr. Runnels is exceptional. Time is taken to explain the entire procedure beforehand. Patient and doctor skills are second to none. Thank you."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"Great customer service. Everyone was very nice and polite!!"

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"Awesome!! Dr Runnells is to awesome he cares about u and urhealth and does everything to fix the problem, couldn't ask for a better doctor.!!!"

5.0 Review from A.D. Source: Google Dec 12 2023

"GI Associates is a great place for these special needs."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"I have been a patient with Dr. Runnels for over 10 years. He has the best bedside manner of any doctor I have had. He always listens to my concerns and has taken care of all of my GI issues. I recommend him to anyone who ask about needing a GI doctor."

5.0 Review from F.P. Source: Google Nov 14 2023

"Very awesome doctor"

5.0 Review from W.D. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Dr. Runnels is very thorough and is taking steps that weren't even taken during a recent hospital stay in order to get it the bottom of the problem and provide relief. Highly Recommend!"

5.0 Review from R.D. Source: Google Nov 03 2023

"The staff of nurses, anesthesiologists and doctors were so caring and amazing. I highly recommend them."

5.0 Review from D. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"FIVE STARS, TOP SHELF, AWESOME, DOCTOR RUNNELS BED SIDE MANNER'S IS WHOLESOME HEARTFELT I COMPLETELY FELT AT EASE THE MOMENT HE INTRODUCED HIMSELF TO ME HE HAS CONVINCED ME THAT MY WELL-BEING AND MY HEALTH IS AT HIS UTMOST IMPORTANCE, I CAN'T SAY HOW LONG IT'S BEEN SINCE A PHYSICIAN TOOK THE TIME TO REASSURE A NEW PATIENT THAT I WAS IN THE RIGHT PLACE NOT TO MENTION THE REST OF THE STAFF IS TOP SHELF VERY POLITE AND PERSONABLE SO AT THE END OF MY VISIT I FELT AS IF FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE I ACTUALLY HAD THE PLEASURE TO BE IN THE COMPANY OF A DOWN HOME COUNTRY DOCTOR FIVE STARS I TAKE MY HAT OFF TO DR RUNNELS ON THE STAFF."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"Excellent staff & Dr.Runnels is just an awesome doctor.He will do everything he can to get u feeling better & he listen to all your problem to make sure he cater to your medical needs. THANK YOU😊"

5.0 Review from H.F. Source: Google Oct 20 2023

"Having my scope at Magee General was a winner. Knowing several of the nurses was great. Had a good experience but was not able to complete the procedure. Looking forward to December and completing all that's needed."

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Oct 20 2023

"Dr. Runnels was very professional and personable from beginning to end. All of his staff treated me with respect and dignity. An all around wonderful experience."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Oct 09 2023

"Dr. Runnels was very professional and reassuring during the procedure. After completing it, he arrived and explained the results with patience and clarity. I appreciated his bedside manner and his positive attitude."

5.0 Review from K.E. Source: Google Oct 09 2023

"Friendly staff. Comfortable. Peaceful. Answer all my questions."

5.0 Review from G.P. Source: Google Oct 09 2023

"Dr. Runnels was very nice and professional. My procedure went very well and I'm so thankful for that. It's always a great feeling to have a doctor with a great bedside manner and makes his/her patients feel that they're cared for. Thank you so much!"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Oct 08 2023

"For what could be an unpleasant experience the procedure went off without a hitch. Doctor and entire staff excellent, very dedicated to making sure that the procedure went well."

5.0 Review from A.J. Source: Google Oct 07 2023

"DR Runnels has always been a great doctor he takes time and explain everything to you and that's great."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Oct 07 2023

"Dr. Runnels and his staff are great."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Oct 06 2023

"Very professional.. great bedside manner would highly recommend to family and friends"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Oct 06 2023

"It was magical!"

5.0 Review from R. Source: Google Oct 03 2023

"I highly recommend Dr. Runnels"

5.0 Review from R.“. Source: Google Aug 25 2023

"Best GI ever"

5.0 Review from K.T. Source: Google Jul 25 2023

"Dr. Runnels was very helpful and caring during my husbands appointments we will continue to see him!!"

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Jun 25 2023

"Content and Peaceful now"

5.0 Review from R.R. Source: Google Jun 16 2023

"Dr Runnels and staff are great professionals and will make your visit as easy as possible. Highly recommend their services if needing a good GI doctor."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 25 2023

"I love my visit with Dr. Tunnels and his nurse was awesome"

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google May 23 2023

"Excellent care!"

5.0 Review from A.J. Source: Google May 18 2023

"Dr. Runnels is a very personable physician. He listens to you. He explains your plan of care in layman's terms where you clearly understand what your treatment is going to take place.. He cares. I never feel rushed. His staff is very professional and efficient. They value your time. The coordination of care and explanation before hand off from service to service makes navigating the clinic effortless. Great health care services and team."

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google May 11 2023

"The Doctor and staff at GI Associates always leave me feeling very special. They do a great job... thank you..."

5.0 Review from F. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Absolutely loved Dr. Runnels. For somebody who is very embarrassed of my personal areas. He really made me feel ok, and assured that everything was going to be ok. He will for now on be my GI dr. And I will send everybody I can his way."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Apr 27 2023

"This is a magnificent doctor. He immediately addressed my concerns and promptly made sure I have the best medical plan for my GI System."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Love Dr Runnels and staff. Quick to get an appointment. Dr listens to you and share in the care plan. Runs appropriate tests to rule out and make sure the correct treatment plan is in place. All staff has empathy and truly cares about your well being."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"He was personal and took time to listen!!"

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"The staff and Dr. Runnels are timely and caring. He is a great doctor and I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Doctor Runnels whole staff treatment me in a very professional way. The staff was very kind and understanding. I would recommend you and your staff to all of the people that I know"

5.0 Review from C.T. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Great doctor. Fast and very convenient. Very knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"My husband is a patient of Dr. Runnels. He was very pleased with his professionalism, friendliness and explaining in terms easy to understand his diagnosis. If the need arises for me to use the GI Clinic, I will definitely see Dr. Runnels."

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"I recommend Dr. Runnels in Flowood to everyone and anyone who going through these uncomfortable situation. I'm 40 and have been shame about my situation for a long time. I made an appointment and when I showed up the whole ride I was scared nervous embarrassed but after I arrived the staff was very nice and Dr Runnels and nurse was very very nice they were so knowledgeable and empathetic to my problem. It was quick too."

5.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Dr. Runnels was awesome, concerned and very understanding."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Dr. John Matthew Runnels at GI Associates is one of the most caring doctors I have ever had. He takes all the time needed to listen so he can diagnose and recommend accurately. He obviously takes his medical practice seriously as he cares for his patients personally and practically. Highly recommended."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Everybody was really nice and Dr. Runnels is extremely nice and cares about helping you."

5.0 Review from G.H. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"This doctor took me in on a walk in basis and sent me to another doctor to have surgery done. He and his staff are great and very professional indeed. Thank you Doc for your help."

5.0 Review from D.Q. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Compassionate team of professionals at GI associates on Dr. Runnels team. Esp Jodi and his other nursing staff. Very thorough! Very considerate. :)"

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Listens to you and explains everything in detail. TaKes the time to answer your questions and doesn’t make you feel rushed."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"They are the best! I love him and his staff! They always go over and above to make sure they patient get the best care and great treatment!"

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Found Dr. Runnels to be highly professional, a good listener to gather patient concerns, and excellent on explaining diagnostic results and recommended treatment."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr Runnels is very caring and understanding. He listens to you and let's you explain to him what is going on with out talking over you. I would recommend anyone to him. Great Doctor."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Every one was so nice and friendly Dr Russell was so nice and patient and caring iwill tell my friend an my family thank you ."

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I absolutely love Dr. Runnels, his bed side manner is genuine concern. I am so Blessed that my family doctor referred me there."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Professional, easy, no problems."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"He was great !"

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr.John R is the best,been going to him for years,He will take care of you and do his best to send you to the best Doctors for further testing,He is Awesome"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Love love love!! They are so nice and professional. Dr Runnels really listen and try different things to help."

5.0 Review from V.R. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr Runnels was very good at listening to my concerns and then giving me a diagnosis and a plan on what to do next."

5.0 Review from C.T. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I have seen Dr.Runnells for several years now and am impressed with how kind and patient he is. He really treats you as a person and not just a number. His staff are very friendly and proficient."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Patient kind very good doctor and the staff is amazing. If your looking for a Gi doctor, look no further"

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Great staff and a great place!! Answered all my questions and concerns and were very personable!! Highly recommend them!! Dr. Runnels is an exceptional gastroenterologist!!"

5.0 Review from M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Doctor runnels and his staff where so down to earth understanding and patient. Im very happy with the decision ive made so far and i hope we can find answers soon!"

5.0 Review from T.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels is very professional."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels spoke perfect English to my understanding while explaining the procedure. I will most definitely recommend him for any GI procedures or surgeries."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels and his staff are very professional and they explained everything about your procedure."

5.0 Review from R.O. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels and his staff from the receptionist to the intake nurses to the nurses they not only are professional but they do all they can to make your visit as smooth as possible. Thanks for all that you guys do."

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Good professional experience both staff and Dr"

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I have had four procedures in the last ten years done by Dr. Runnells. I did not have any complications.Staff were very professional and very caring. I also received a follow-up calll to see if I was doing ok or having any problems after the procedure which I really appreciated. Hope your experience is as good as mine."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I arrived a little early for my appointment, the front end staff n the nurses were very friendly, didn't have to wait long, my procedure didn't take long at all, no problems, Dr Runnels was awesome👍"

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Very nice & caring"

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Very thorough and helpful, everyone was very friendly and helpful 👍"

5.0 Review from J.N. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Great doctor that makes you feel comfortable in a medical setting. I highly recommend"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels is an exceptional gastroenterologist. He listens thoughtfully and thoroughly to me. He has medical knowledge, expertise, and wisdom with which he has utilized in my diagnoses. He explains and explores. He treats with that same thoughtfulness and thoroughness. He goes the distance with me and guides me through the process until he has covered every possibility in the goal of my health being the best it can be. The LORD has blessed my husband and me for many years by his medical ability to diagnose, treat, and lead us to a healthier state of well-being. I am most grateful. Thank you, Dr. Runnels."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Professional and Informative care. I couldn’t have asked for more. He was recommended to me by a friend of mine who is a Medical Doctor and uses him personally. That, to me, said it all."

5.0 Review from T.K. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Very helpful and kind staff. I highly recommend Dr. Tunnels to everybody."

5.0 Review from T.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Excellent, very professional, a all around great experience,,,"

5.0 Review from Y.J. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. John Runnels has been my GI Specialist since mid 2000. My first visit he was knowledgeable with my symptoms but he still did Xrays, Upper Endoscopy and Colonoscopy. Which turned out to be what he already told me. His staff is outstanding treating me so personal, caring and kind. I highly recommend Dr. Runnels."

5.0 Review from H.A. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"This is my second post. Dr. Runnels and his amazing staff are my guardian angels sent by God to bless me with their expertise to make my life whole again. After suffering excruciatingly for 4 years and going to countless other doctors and have 100s of tests, I was told by a nurse friend of mine to try Dr. Matt Runnels because she had worked with him years ago. I called his office and they gave me an appointment right away. I didn't have to wait for weeks to see him. And from that moment on I knew that my prayers had been answered. If I could give them a million stars I would gladly ✨️ do it. 😇😇😇😇😇😇😇💥💥💯"

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I was very pleased with the way everyone treated me and have already recommended them to someone. We always took both of our children to the GI Associates which has been 14+ years never had any complaints"

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Satisfied and pleased with results"

5.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Everyone was nice and friendly and all my question was answer"

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels and the staff at GI & Associates were so kind and genuinely personable. The most pleasant experience I could have hoped for."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I've seen Dr. Runnels a couple times now and would recommend him to anyone. Staff is great, facility is well managed and professional."

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr and staff were very professional and courteous."

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels is the BEST. He makes sure you understand and answers questions or concerns."

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I’ve always been well pleased."

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Everyone was very nice they answered all of my questions"

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I was very pleased with my first appointment. Dr Runnels was polite and friendly while maintaining a professional demeanor. The office staff was friendly and helpful. I will be having some procedures later this month and I feel confident that Dr Runnels will take care of me with the same professional manner he displayed during my first office visit."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Great experience from booking appointment to recovery. Dr Runnels was courteous and professional with a friendly manner."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Will use them again."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"The staff is on point very prompt and waiting time was minimal. I trust Dr John Matthew Runnels with my health very much so. Very caring and concerned Doctor. So thankful to have him as my GI doctor"

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels and his staff were exemplary throughout the entire process. His staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and provided help and assistance when needed. The facility is located in a convenient location and was very neat and tidy. I would recommend this facility and Dr. Runnels to any of my family and friends who are in search of a Gastroenterologist. Thank you Dr. Runnels and your staff."

5.0 Review from P.P. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels and his staff are so kind and very professional!!! I’ve had 3 procedures done with him and I was extremely nervous about having them. They put my anxiety to rest in the manner of which they treated me!!! So very professional and kind!!! I’m so glad my primary care doctor sent me to Dr. Runnels and his staff!!!!"

5.0 Review from R.Q. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I am satisfied with the care given by Dr Runnels and his team."

5.0 Review from S.I. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Love Dr. Runnels he went out of his way to make sure he covered everything. Highly recommend him and his staff"

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I love Dr. Runnels! I laughed as much as a person seeing a GI doc could possibly laugh. He is kind, incredibly intelligent, down to earth, and patiently explains everything. But, face it, a sense of humor always helps."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Very professional and has a wonderful bed-side manner."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"I love Dr. Runnels. He is very caring and in tune with his patients. I've received excellent care from him and his staff. I feel very pampered before , during and after a procedure."

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"This was the most amazing experience from start to finish ! Doctor runnels was the sweetest person I ever have encountered in a doctors visit . He had me in with a surgeon same day and my surgery was a week later I can not tell you how many doctors I’ve been to telling me I did not have a hernia and he barely touched me and could tell . The surgeon he sent me to was amazing as well actually found two hernias and fixed me up ! 1000/10 would recommend"

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Very great facility and staff. Great communication and knowledge of your case. Just overall amazing experience and I love Dr Runnels!!"

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"They did a wonderful job. I was nervous but they made me feel comfortable."

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My experiences with Dr. Runnels have all been great. He is a very caring doctor and treats you with respect. Feel like he listens to what I have to say. All of the staff are pleasant & helpful."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent staff & Dr.Runnels is just an awesome doctor.He will do everything he can to get u feeling better..."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I just wouldn't have it no other way. Dr.Runnels have the same sweet spirit every time I visit the clinic. Growing up as a child my grandmother always told me. You can always tell a Christian when you see one,and that's Dr.Runnels. The nursing department and staff just so friendly and respectful. I would recommend whoever need to see a GI specialist go see (Dr.Runnels)"

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very pleased with this clinic."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I just had my colonoscopy a week ago and received great care. I had to start the process a couple of days ahead of my procedure no eating solid foods and taking the prep which was the only thing that was tough to get through. My experience was great with the nurses and Dr. Runnels everyone was very nice and professional and Dr. Runnels made me feel at ease explaining the procedure. I was alseep during the procedure (great sleep too) and it was over before I knew it. Getting a colonoscopy is just fine people."

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Runnels has been my GI doctor for many years. I trust him with my health issues and highly recommend him to you!"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very satisfied. Highly recommend the GIA. Dr Runnels is an excellent doctor and his staff take very good care of the patients."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Professional, friendly and good bedside manner."

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"He is a great doctor and very nice and makes sure you are well taken care of concerning any GI issue you may have."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Professional and personable! Very satisfied!"

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Runnels has been very prfessional and carimg in my treatment. He has gone over in detail my before and after care so that i have a good Understanding what to expect in future care."

5.0 Review from B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I was very pleased with my first appointment. Dr Runnels was polite and friendly while maintaining a professional demeanor. The office staff was friendly and helpful. I will be having some procedures later this month and I feel confident that Dr Runnels will take care of me with the same professional manner he displayed during my first office visit."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Gentle and informative"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I feel very confident at the service I receive at GI ASSOCIATES. Dr. Runnels is amazing service is quick and efficient Miranda was wonderful too. I would never go anywhere else I would give them ten stars if I could!"

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"A very caring, efficient, and professional experience. Thank you to everyone at GI associates."

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels is a true professional - GI Associates took care of my routine visit very efficiently and effectively - highly recommend both!"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Everyone was very nice and made me feel very comfortable and at ease. Everything went well and didn't take long at all."

5.0 Review from G.F. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels and his associates took very good care of me. I had no problems after my colonoscopy. Thank you very much."

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Runnels and staff was very prompt and knowledgeable of taking care of me as a patient. I would recommend him to everyone"

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. John Runnels is very caring and took time with me to answer any and all questions I had. He’s awesome and would recommend to everyone!"

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have used Dr Runnels for several years. He is always professional, knowledgeable and caring."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Runnels, his assistant Ms Jodi, his nurse Jackie and Sissy were so amazing. Words can never express how well they treated us. I highly recommend him and his group keep up the great work🙌🙌"

5.0 Review from T.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I was sooo nervous at the start,but Dr. John Runnels staff as well as himself made me very comfortable and relaxed. This was my first time having this procedure. I would recommend Dr. Runnels for anyone who need this procedure done."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr runnels is great!!"

4.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr John Matthew Runnels M.D. and his staff were very professional very caring and very thorough! I appreciate all they did to help me find out what problems I was having!! Thank you so much!"