Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Aug 05 2022

"He's a good doctor and I believe that he wants to get to the source of the problems I am having with my stomach."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Aug 05 2022

"I enjoyed meeting Dr. Alvarez to discuss my upcoming procedure. His patient and caring spirit was evident during our conversation, and I feel comfortable knowing he will be conducting my upcoming procedure."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google May 10 2022

"Dr. Alvarez was very thorough explaining all my test results."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Apr 28 2022

"My experiences with dr. Alvarez have been very enlightening and very helpful and being he's my new doctor is taking over for my formers gastrologist I am very much pleased I would recommend him to anyone he does such a great job his bedside manner makes you feel more like family than like a patient and that's how I feel with all my doctors cuz we have to be family in order to make things work in unison Saga"

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"Dr. John J. Alvarez is very knowledgeable, compassionate and caring! He listen to you and make you feel very welcome! I highly recommend Dr. Alvarez for your Gastroenterology needs!"

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"Literally the only doctor that's ever taken the time to HEAR me. Sharp, honest, and caring staff you won't find anywhere else!"

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Mar 30 2022

"I met Dr. John Alvarez, for the first time, just about 2 weeks ago. I wanted to have a deep and thorough conversation with my new doctor, as I have a very complicated health history and my colonoscopy and endoscopy were due. I was very pleased and put at ease with Dr. Alvarez' professionalism, his patience and his willingness to LISTEN! I highly reccomend the office of Dr. John Alvarez."

5.0 Review from D.Z. Source: Google Mar 03 2022

"Dr.Alvarez took the time to listen to all of my concerns and made me feel very comfortable. Explained the procedures and made me feel at ease. Great dr."

5.0 Review from N.O. Source: Google Feb 23 2022

"Dr.Alvarez was very awesome. For years I suffered from a issue he solved it pretty quick I’m very happy and thankful. He would definitely recommend him."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Jan 18 2022

"Excellent doctor!"

5.0 Review from K.&. Source: Google Jan 16 2022

"Dr. Alvarez...is first and foremost a great listener. He actually listens to what symptoms you are having and helps formulate a health plan that will work for you."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Dec 31 2021

"Dr John Alvarez is very professional at his work, and his staff is also I Highly recommend him. Happy New Year too Dr Alvarez and staff keep up the great work. 👍"

5.0 Review from V.W. Source: Google Dec 16 2021

"Dr. Alvarez was very attentive and treated me with respect. I felt he did a thorough procedure of my pancreas and I have confidence in his ability as a gastroenterologist. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Dec 11 2021

"Dr. Alvarez was professional, capable, friendly, and did a great job."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Nov 30 2021

"Dr. J.Alvarez has been most caring and simple in his approach to addressing symptoms and concerns. I always feel free to ask questions and he truly listens. I find him knowledgeable in his specialty. It is regretful that his assistant/staff do not return calls and do not communicate test results"

4.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Nov 10 2021

"Very nice GI doctor..he explains things to you and is very professional..and smiles at you. In my last visit he took care of my problem by ordering the right medications.good job doc"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Oct 29 2021

"Very informative and took the necessary time to understand my issues. We now have a plan unlike other GI doctors I’ve seen in the past."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Oct 02 2021

"Hands down the best GI. If you are looking for a Dr. Dr Alvarez is the way to go. You will be very well taken care of. Plus his staff are also very helpful."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Aug 27 2021

"I will do my part to stay healthy and whole. However if I ever need Dr Alvarez again I will definitely call on him."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Aug 19 2021

"Dr.Alvarez and his staff were very kind to me from day 1, he is very professional and he listens to his patients. I told him what the issue was and the next week I had the colonoscopy done. He is definitely going to be my new GI Physician, if you are looking for a kind, professional MD, he is the guy for you."

5.0 Review from H.A. Source: Google Aug 10 2021

"It was not easy for me to find or trust a Gastroenterologist since my bad experience with the previous one. Not to mention having to go through another endoscopy. Dr John Alvarez erased that from my memory from the first time I visited his clinic. Dr Alvarez Liston to you , answers all your questions and explains everything patiently and he is very understanding to your needs. Thank you for being my DOCTOR"

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Jun 30 2021

"My experience with Dr. Alvarez has always been very good. No matter how minor or serious your problem is. He takes the time to listen to you. And I've never seen him in a bad mood. Always comes in and greets you with a smile. And doesn't make you feel like an insurance claim. I have seen many doctors over the years and I can say with a sincere heart Dr. Alvarez is a professional,very knowledgeable, and very caring. It's a shame not all doctors could be like him. I would highly recommend Dr. Alvarez to anyone who needs a Gastroenterology doctor."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Jun 09 2021

"Dr. Alvarez Is very caring and understanding. He takes time to listen and genuinely cares about what you're feeling. I feel comfortable talking to him. He spends time explaining my condition and answering all of my family's questions and concerns on every visit. Other doctors never fully listened or cared. Some even interrupted me when I was explaining my symptoms...Not Dr Alvarez. He took interest and was able to diagnose and treat my ulcerative colitis. He helped me through several treatment options until we found the one that worked for me and accomplished remission this year. I'm forever extremely thankful for Dr. Alvarez!"

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google May 17 2021

"Awesome doctor great friendly staff. Thank you Dr Alvarez"

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google May 14 2021

"He is very good and knowledgeable he wants to get to the bottom of your problems"

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google May 01 2021

"Dr.Alvarez , he knows his job and can tell you what he is going to do in a way so you can understand it.I would go back any time. Thank you Dr.Alvarez"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Mar 31 2021

"If you are looking for a Gi consider Dr Alvarez. Hands down the best."

5.0 Review from Y.G. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"I was very nervous about my procedure but everyone from the staff to Dr. Alvarez was very attentive towards my needs and personal concerns. The attending Anesthesiologist was reassuring and empathetic, which helped me immensely. I greatly appreciated the Nurses attention to detail and their commitment towards my wellbeing. Thank you to All, for making my experience more manageable."

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google Feb 22 2021

"(Translated by Google) VERY TIMELY IN APPOINTMENTS .. PROFESSIONAL IN HIS BOUQUET .. VERY SINCERE .. EXPLAINS EVERYTHING VERY WELL .. VERY GOOD DOCTOR .. AND THE BEST OF ALL IS THAT HE STILL DOES NOT FORGET HIS ROOTS AND SPEAKS A VERY GOOD SPANISH ... I RECOMMEND AS A PROFESSIONAL DOCTOR WHAT IS IT .. EXCELLENT JOB. (Original) MUY PUNTUAL EN LAS CITAS.. PROFESIONAL EN SU RAMO.. MUY SINCERO.. EXPLICA TODO MUY BIEN.. MUY BUEN DOCTOR.. Y LO MEJOR DE TODO ES QUÉ AÚN NO OLVIDA SUS RAICES Y HABLA UN MUY BUEN ESPAÑOL... LO RECOMIENDO CÓMO PROFESIONAL DOCTOR QUÉ ES.. EXCELENTE TRABAJO."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google Jan 27 2021

"Dr Alverez is a very thoughtful and thorough Dr. his staff is very kind and ensuring I have been properly cared for with all questions answered. I traveled all the way from Houston Texas to San Antonio to have my procedure. My experience with Dr Alvarez has been an amazing and lasting experience. I would recommend him to friends and loved ones . Thank you Dr Alvarez"

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Dec 18 2020

"Dr.Alvarez was the first to diagnose me and helped me manage my illness. He is very thorough and will answer any questions or concerns you have. You never feel rushed into anything and are given the opportunity to become familiar with the options to help you feel better. Thank you Dr.Alvarez"