Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 10 2022

"Very professional, great communicator, explained procedure and outcome, support staff very attentive, follow up was exceptional, thanks for caring"

5.0 Review from G.E. Source: Google May 10 2022

"Everyone from the lady who checked me in, to the various nurses and Dr Underwood were incredible. They were very polite and professional."

5.0 Review from E.H. Source: Google Apr 14 2022

"Great job."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Apr 14 2022

"It was good to deal with this staff everyone was great to work with."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Apr 08 2022

"The staff was friendly The atmosphere was clean and they were very helpful they were very helpful during the time of the Covid-19 I would like to say thank you thank ,Dr. Underwood and staff."

5.0 Review from D.E. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"Very good bedside manners, very informative and provided me with information to assist in my care currently and upcoming"

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Feb 15 2022

"The staff was courteous, explained what was going on and acted professionally in every way. The procedures were painless. I was given the results right away with a more detailed explanation provided via the portal."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Feb 15 2022

"Very nice and professional."

4.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Feb 03 2022

"I had an appointment at a certain time. I was not called back to the room for over an hour them I waited in the room for 15 minutes. It would have been nice if I had been told there was a delay in seeing the doctor. Once I saw him all was good. He listened to my issues and recommended a course of action."

5.0 Review from K.P. Source: Google Jan 16 2022

"I have always received outstanding and efficient service by Dr. Underwood and the staff at G.I. Associates!"

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Dec 21 2021

"It was a good thing.The staff are wonderful. They gave great me great news."

4.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Oct 10 2021

"We arrived early for a 1pm procedure. We were supposed to be there at noon but got there at 11:30-11:45. I was told, as the driver, to expect three texts. I got the first text before they ever took my husband back. By 3pm I had heard nothing and was about to look for someone to ask about the procedure. Then I received a text saying that they had begun the procedure and then 25 minutes later that he was in recovery and to go to the appointed door. Everything was okay as far as it all went but I think waiting two hours plus for a text and then getting the final text 25 minutes later for an hour procedure was a bit off putting. The results of the procedure were explained clearly and the nurse and doctor both seemed very caring. The whole procedure was not an unpleasant experience but it was not a 5 star experience."

5.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google Oct 05 2021

"The doctor, nurses, and staff were caring and professional. They were making every effort to be sure that patients were seen in a timely manner. The doctor was thorough and took the time to explain things and to be sure that you understood. The patient portal is great for getting test results and information promptly. The facility was nice and clean."

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google Sep 22 2021

"I have had stomach issues for several months. Dr Underwood listened closely to everything I described to him and recommended an over the counter medication that helped resolve my issues. I recommend Dr Underwood and GI Associates for all your digestive health needs."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Aug 03 2021

"Having colonoscopies now for 35 years, everything went smoothly. Dr. Underwood reviewed a few of my more recent colonoscopies before the procedure and then after waking up explained what he had seen. Received call a few days later to verify what the test revealed and what actions to take to improve my health."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jul 14 2021

"Dr. Underwood is a great doctor. He and his staff does everything to make you comfortable."

5.0 Review from K.T. Source: Google May 30 2021

"Having a Colonoscopy is not a Procedure that anyone looks forward to having. Dr. Underwood and the Staff made it as comfortable as it could possibly be. They were all so very professional. It was not nearly as bad as I had anticipated. I'm so grateful for their care. I knew without doubt I was in very good care. Thank you Dr. Underwood and your staff at G.I. Associates!!"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Mar 23 2021

"Professional service, staff kind and compassionate. Dr. Underwood took time to talk with me before and after procedure. He is an excellent doctor and the the clinic works well."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Mar 22 2021

"Great overall experience"

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Mar 22 2021

"Friendly staff that was there for me before, during and after my procedure. Everything was handle professionally in a timely manner, with prompt follow up. I would recommend that anyone in need of a gastroenterologist, visit Dr. Underwood at GI Associates. As for the procedure itself (routine colonoscopy), the anesthesiologist did an excellent job and I remember nothing. Thanks for the photos and it was my best Spring Break Trip ever!!"

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"Highly recommended. I have used Dr. Underwood for a few procedures and have always had great experiences."

5.0 Review from G.P. Source: Google Feb 11 2021

"I had a very good experience with Dr. Underwood and all the staff there. I would not hesitate to have my next procedure there and with Dr. Underwood."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Jan 28 2021

"My experience was completely satisfactory, and was the best of the three I have done to date. Prep routine was improved, as was the anesthesia process. The staff makes one feel comfortable and welcome."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Jan 26 2021

"It was a great professional meeting and all the staff were nice and polite, very good place to go"

5.0 Review from N.R. Source: Google Dec 22 2020

"Dr. Underwood and his staff are top notch! They do an excellent job of explaining the procedure, post procedure care and making you feel comfortable. I couldn’t ask for better care"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Dec 10 2020

"Dr. Underwood is a great GI Doctor! I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from R.2. Source: Google Dec 08 2020

"Great experience. Dr Underwood is top notch!"

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google Nov 12 2020

"Dr. Underwood is the best!"

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Oct 21 2020

"The prep was awful but the people were great! The Anesthetic was swift and powerful— I remember NOTHING! LOL! The Dr was thorough in his pre-procedure pep talk—I was out at ease by the professionalism of all the staff. I vaguely remember the Dr after the procedure but I do remember— “all went well, found one thing & removed it...” then I don’t remember much after that. The entire experience was WAAAY better than I had anticipated—Thank you for the excellent care!"

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Oct 20 2020

"Everyone in the clinic was so professional and friendly, it made the experience a lot easier."

5.0 Review from A.O. Source: Google Oct 19 2020

"Absolutely no complaints... Super informative and very kind!"

4.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Oct 15 2020

"Great ! I like the conservative approach to eliminate the GI issues vs Colonoscopy! Thanks !"

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google Oct 13 2020

"Love the entire staff and everyone is very respectful to the needs of there guest ♥️"

5.0 Review from D.T. Source: Google Oct 06 2020

"Dr. Underwood and staff were wonderful! Everything went very smoothly!"

5.0 Review from K.H. Source: Google Sep 29 2020

"They were very friendly and made me very comfortable."

5.0 Review from E.N. Source: Google Sep 29 2020

"GI Associates is always prompt and professional. Dr. Underwood is as honest and straight forward as is gets. Thank you for the awesome service you provide."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google Sep 29 2020

"Melissa was kind and caring in making sure we understood procedure and what to expect. Dr. Underwood and his staff were professional and courteous and again made sure I was comfortable and understood. I did not feel and discomfort. The nurse called the next day to check on me. My compliments to Dr Underwood and his staff. Robert"

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Sep 24 2020

"Dr James Underwood and staff is very caring very explainable very clear my overall experience was wonderfully accurate satisfaction"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Sep 22 2020

"Everything went according to the plan"

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Sep 15 2020

"It was a great experience everyone was very nice and helpful thanks for helping me and thanks Dr underwood for doing a nice job it's very hard to find good drs"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Sep 15 2020

"For covid times it was a non event full experience Very professional people from when I got there till the procedure was complete. Very professional staff and Doctor."

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Aug 26 2020

"staff was very friendly"

5.0 Review from M.Y. Source: Google Aug 25 2020

"Procedure went well. Dr. Underwood and staff were excellent!"

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Aug 24 2020

"Excellent!"

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Aug 13 2020

"my treatment was top notch, I've already done a review so stop sending these please"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Aug 13 2020

"The staff at this facility are very professional and courteous! Dr. Underwood was very friendly and made me feel very comfortable prior to and after my procedure. I highly recommend this physician and facility!"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Aug 12 2020

"I am blessed to have such great care! Dr Underwood and his Nurse Practioner, Tina, are an excellent medical team and the facilities at GI Associates are top of the line. I hope they will be taking care of my GI medical needs for many years to come."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Aug 11 2020

"Top notch care with Dr. Underwood and associates at GIA..!"

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Aug 05 2020

"From the time I made the appointment until I walked out after the procedure I felt like I was given the best possible information and the best possible care. During the procedure, I was told before and after what to expect. Dr. Underwood met with me before and after the procedure. I was very glad I had it done even during a pandemic."

5.0 Review from A.E. Source: Google Jul 20 2020

"Dr. Underwood and his medical staff was very professional in prepping and providing services for my colonoscopy scheduled. With this being a first time to have this procedure, everything was explained to me on what to expect. The nurses and pharmacy tech involved were very cordial and patient also with answering questions of concern. I would like to thank my doctor for referring me to Dr. Underwood for this service. I was taken care of and would not hesitate to refer him and his staff of the G.I. Associates to someone else. I look forward to seeing him and his staff for further business."

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Jul 16 2020

"I have been seeing Dr Underwood for 10 years now. He is by far the most caring doctor in the state of Mississippi. He will actually take the time to answer your questions and explain your diagnosis. If other doctors would follow his expertise, we would have better doctors in the state."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Jul 14 2020

"All of the staff was very friendly and helpful to make sure I knew everything that was going on. Dr Underwood also very friendly and clearly explained the process and results after"

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Jul 07 2020

"Great staff, minimal wait (better for my procedure anxiety), answered all of my questions and were very professional. We've never had a bad experience with this group of professionals."

5.0 Review from M.Q. Source: Google Jun 30 2020

"Everyone was very kind and attentive and helped put your mind at ease."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Jun 30 2020

"I arrived at appointment time and was promptly checked in. I had filled out info online prior to visit. I was called back a few minutes late, but from there everything went quickly and smoothly. Next I was getting dressed. Looking forward to some food. Relived that Dr Underwood reported good results!"

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google Mar 05 2020

"Everyone very courteous. Move you through the process very expeditiously. Had a 9:45 appt and asked to come 30 minutes earlier. Got there at 9:04 was immediately received in, was complete and on my way home at 10:48 .Very short waiting time between processing in, filing out a short form, verifying information,,having vitals checked, waiting to see doctor, seeing doctor and scheduling next appt."

5.0 Review from B.P. Source: Google Mar 03 2020

"I was treated very professionally and with care and concern"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Feb 29 2020

"Staff was very professional, available and knowledgeable about the entire procedure. They certainly wanted to make sure you were comfortable and safe. Dr. Underwood was open in what was going to take place during the procedure and detailed about results. All together a great experience for a rather dreaded procedure!"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google Feb 07 2020

"Great staff, quick, professional process. Everything explained up front, all questions answered. Comfortable environment ."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Oct 12 2019

"My experience last week was extraordinary from the moment of scheduling to the time I drove away. Dr. Underwood and the staff at GI are the kind of people who demonstrated compassion and treated me as if they knew me personally. Not only their kindness but the fact that I did not have to wait for the diagnosis to arrive in the mail days or even weeks later is a godsend. I am impressed and so very grateful!! God bless you all."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Oct 01 2019

"The staff is amazing. My anesthesiologist and Dr. Underwood were great. I know I got the best care possible. I highly recommend G.I. Associates."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Aug 09 2019

"Warm, friendly, professional"

5.0 Review from S.O. Source: Google Aug 07 2019

"Friendly staff. Nurse Practitioner Upchurch was very thorough explaining to me what to expect for my impending procedure. She addressed me with a smile and made me very comfortable. Even when setting up my appointment the lady that assisted me was awesome 👏🏽!! Wish I could remember her name. We talked about her daughter being in the service and me being a veteran. Hands down GI Associates clinic has the best staff ever!! Even the lady that greets you as soon as you walk in the building was great. Wish other clinics could pattern their customer experience with GI Associates!! Good Job 👍🏾!!"

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google Jul 11 2019

"I thoroughly enjoyed my appointment. Dr. Underwood did something that a lot of doctors won’t do. He offered possible explanations to the problems I was having with things beyond the medical field or in other words, that would make him money. I could tell he was genuinely concerned with my well being and wanted to just help me anyway he could. We conversed about how the social constructs formed today can make it seem like we aren’t eating right rather than running test on me. He gave me clarity to what I’m going through and I walked out feeling much better about it."

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Jun 24 2019

"Great check in and prep processes"

4.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Apr 17 2019

"The ONLY reason I didn’t give 5stars is because 4 people that arrived after I did were taken back before I was. The entire staff including the front desk were outstanding and I would highly recommend GI Associates."