Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Nov 23 2022

"Dr Mayer had been my physician for several years. He has a wonderful bedside manner .He is very thorough ."

5.0 Review from O.J. Source: Google Nov 22 2022

"Great very helpful Respectful"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google Nov 19 2022

"I love doctor Mayer he is the sweetest man . My visits with him are always great."

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google Nov 08 2022

"Dr Mayer is by far the best dr I’ve ever been to! His knowledge is beyond great and very compassionate at the same time!"

5.0 Review from W. Source: Google Nov 02 2022

"Dr Meyer is so professional and caring. He has impeccable bedside manor. I respect his work and he is one of the best GI doctors in this area."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Nov 02 2022

"Dr. Mayer and his staff were AWESOME! He’s was very informative. He was very easy to talk to and his staff was very friendly. They made me feel very comfortable."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Very helpful, professional and caring staff and Doctor."

5.0 Review from T.K. Source: Google Oct 21 2022

"The staff was friendly and helpful throughout the entire process. Everything went smoothly and 8 polyps were removed without issue. Thank you for your professionalism and courteous service. I do not look forward to this again, however I will definitely utilize your services in the future."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Oct 21 2022

"Details ? Dr. Mayer is a very thorough Physician . He reassures me that I am coming along fine and explains everything that I question him on . I have a lot of confidence in Dr. H. K.Mayer. Thank you."

5.0 Review from W.R. Source: Google Oct 21 2022

"Dr.Mayer has a great way of making you feel comfortable. He patiently listens and answers all of your questions. He's a very compassionate doctor. I highly recommend him."

4.0 Review from E.L. Source: Google Oct 20 2022

"My visit at Dr Mayer was pleasant I was a little nervous at first but after speaking with Dr Mayer about my procedure I felt at ease."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Oct 20 2022

"Dr Mayer is awesome he really is the best"

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Oct 20 2022

"He patience take time out to understand me.Last year I went to him and he said give him time to research the other medicines I has but didn't workout. Later he call it in and it work.. He concert, carring patient about my problems. Just said I am happy to have him ask my doctor today."

5.0 Review from L.O. Source: Google Oct 20 2022

"Everything about the staff and Dr. Mayer is all love ❤️"

5.0 Review from L.L. Source: Google Oct 20 2022

"Dr Herbert Mayer is by far the most caring thoughtful Dr that had helped me with my intestinal problems for over 30 yrs. He has helped me with test etc to teach me how to care for myself with my health with safe step by step simple ways to help me with my ischemic colitis. Dr Mayer is the best gaster entomologist out there. Thanks again!"

5.0 Review from E.L. Source: Google Oct 20 2022

"Dr.Herbert Mayer is a great Doctor takes plenty of time discussing all your concerns does not rush your appointment. He is very articulate and gives practical ideas on acid reflux. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Oct 19 2022

"Dr. Mayer is the coolest SWAGGGGG Doctor I've ever meet... He explained my procedure I'll be having in December in plain text. I felt better comfortable with him..... I know fell in love with Dr. Mayer 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣😘😘😘😘"

5.0 Review from T.M. Source: Google Oct 18 2022

"Dr. Mayer is a very knowledgeable, caring and empathetic doctor. He listens to your concerns and works with you as a team to come up with the best solutions to address and solve them. He is one of the best GI doctors in the city of New Orleans."

5.0 Review from A.V. Source: Google Oct 11 2022

"Dr. Mayer has good bedside manners, listens to the patient, shows empathy and explains his diagnosis. His approach to treatment seems logical and reasonable."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Oct 11 2022

"Everytime I see Dr.Mayer I am very happy with him. He is very conscientious, informative, and friendly."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Oct 10 2022

"Dr. Mayer is very personalable and attentive to detail. I recommend him without qualification."

5.0 Review from V.S. Source: Google Sep 28 2022

"He has a wonderful sense of humor, and was very approachable, and clearly had a depth of expertise and put it all in plain language. It was the epitome of what I would hope for in meeting a doctor for the first time ."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Sep 23 2022

"Dr Herbert Mayer has been my Dr for 20 + years. I have never met a Dr with a lovelier bedside manner. He is professional and takes time explaining."

5.0 Review from T. Source: Google Sep 22 2022

"Was one of the most delightful experiences, the staff and the doctor are all professional and wonderful people to have my care with. Would definitely recommend Metro GI of New Orleans for your GI care."

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Sep 22 2022

"Dr. Herbert has terrific bedside manner. He made me comfortable with the procedure and was very knowledgeable and patient"

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Sep 17 2022

"Excellent physician. And treatment and bedside manner."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Sep 10 2022

"I love my doctor 💕"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jul 31 2022

"Dr. Mayer is kind, considerate and respectful. He is extremely knowledgeable and explains everything and listens and answers all questions. He speaks to you as a peer and does not speak down to you. A fabulous physician and I cannot recommend enough."

5.0 Review from A.D. Source: Google Jul 26 2022

"Dr. Mayer is one of the most humble physician I have ever met. He is gentle and I found him to be a spiritual person. He explained the whole procedure to me and answered all my questions. It’s my prayer that the Lord will bless Dr. Mayer abundantly for him to continue the healing ministry of Jesus Christ."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Jul 26 2022

"Great staff , was registered and in the back in less than 20 minutes and dr Mayer pinpointed everything to the t with my health issues . Big thank you to Dr Mayer and his staff !!"

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Jul 20 2022

"It was good"

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google Jul 19 2022

"Dr Mayer was extremely easy to talk to and listened attentively when I discussed my symptoms."

5.0 Review from R.F. Source: Google Jul 12 2022

"Dr Mayer has a fantastic bedside manner and an incredible doctor overall. I don’t trust anyone else with my GI needs. Highly recommended!!"

5.0 Review from D.K. Source: Google Jul 12 2022

"Great staff even better doctor! patient care is a priority with him! My experience there was amazing!"

5.0 Review from R.J. Source: Google Jul 07 2022

"The staff were very friendly my appointment went very smoothly"

5.0 Review from E.L. Source: Google Jul 06 2022

"Very detailed and caring"

5.0 Review from M.P. Source: Google Jun 28 2022

"Very pleased!!!!!!"

4.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Jun 20 2022

"Dr.Mayer is very caring and concerned doctor."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jun 16 2022

"Dr. Mayer is truly one of the best doctors on the planet. I cannot recommend him or his staff highly enough. He is an astute diagnostician who is always concerned with symptom relief. He has helped me heal from several turbulent bouts of illness since I first saw him in 2015. If you are searching for a doctor who listens, cares, and works to fully resolve complicated issues--give Dr. Mayer a call today."

5.0 Review from W.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"A very engaged and experienced doctor."

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very welcoming and personable. The Dr. allows you all the question time you need. No feeling rushed. Office was efficient."

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google May 21 2022

"Very pleased with Dr.Meyer ,he has helped and have taken very good care of my husband and I. HE takes time with his patients, listens, also very caring."

5.0 Review from Z. Source: Google May 20 2022

"Such an amazing doctor who shows you compassion!"

5.0 Review from E.A. Source: Google Apr 20 2022

"Dr. Mayer is absolutely wonderful! I have recommended him to my family, friends and colleagues."

5.0 Review from M.E. Source: Google Apr 19 2022

"Dr. Mayer and his staff were outstanding. They explain everything clearly and we're very friendly and professional."

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Apr 07 2022

"Dr Mayer is hands down one the best doctors in his field!! Not only is he knowledgeable, his patience is unmatched!! Every question answered, every concern addressed. 5 ⭐️ for sure!!!!"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google Apr 07 2022

"I love dr Mayer he’s the sweetest man I’ve ever met doctor wise he really shows his concerns"

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Mar 16 2022

"Dr. Mayer is an excellent physician. He's very professional, kind, knowledgable and answered any questions I had about my procedure. I highly recommend him to anyone who needs an esophagoscopy or a colonoscopy."

5.0 Review from S.N. Source: Google Feb 24 2022

"Dr. Mayer is a doctor that listens with compassion. He explains medical things in terms that I need to understand in order to assist him in treatment. My health is very important to me and his holistic view is the advice I need. I feel supported as a human being, not just a patient with a chart. I can trust his counsel and work with him on his recommendations and follow up. He cares!!"

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google Feb 22 2022

"The Best !!!"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Feb 07 2022

"I love Dr Mayer he’s an awesome GI doctor. I was able to understand everything he explained to me and he takes his time. I would recommend him to anyone."

5.0 Review from D.K. Source: Google Feb 02 2022

"Dr. Mayer is an 11/10 and I fully recommend him. Excellent and easy to talk, extremely knowledgeable and a wonderful Doctor!"

5.0 Review from K.P. Source: Google Feb 02 2022

"Dr. Mayer explained everything about the procedure. And did a follow up with me."

5.0 Review from Y.J. Source: Google Jan 22 2022

"This is my first time having a colonoscopy. I have already recommended Dr. Mayer to everyone I know. I am more than grateful that I finally had one done."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Jan 09 2022

"Dr. Mayer was throughal and explained all steps in detail and i had no problems after procedure. Afterwards he explained and showed me results"

5.0 Review from H.N. Source: Google Dec 23 2021

"Dr. Mayer was highly recommended by my PC doctor, and after my experience with Dr. Mayer and his support staff, it’s obvious why. Dr. Mayer was professional, efficient, kind, courteous and exceptionally proficient. I recommend Dr. Mayer without reservation."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Dec 21 2021

"A most human doctor — good communicator makes patient comfortable and confident. Need more physicians with his professional persona (ie he does not walk in passes you by and stares at screen thru most of session if not entire session with you)."

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Dec 21 2021

"Dr. Mayer is a doctor who cares and provides effective medical care. He takes the guest work out of his service by examining his patients, asking all the necessary questions before any procedure is considered. I would highly recommend him too people in need."

5.0 Review from G.H. Source: Google Dec 21 2021

"I was treated so nicely by everyone. All my questions were answered. Dr Mayer was very easy to talk to and he treated me respectfully"

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Dec 21 2021

"Dr. Mayer was extremely nice and professional. Even though it was my first time seeing him, I felt like I've known him for years. Excellent!!!!"

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Dec 08 2021

"I needed to have my first routine colonoscopy and as you can imagine, I was not looking forward to it. I have heard stories about the prep and procedure and had put it off several times. I finally set the appointment with Dr Mayer and had a great consultation prior to the procedure. He laid out all of the information I needed and we scheduled the procedure. His staff was helpful, attentive, and very professional. All went well according to the plan and I can say I’m all clear until the next routine procedure. Get on it guys. The only way to prevent colon cancer is early detection. Don’t put it off. It was nowhere near as bad as the stories I had heard. Dr Mayer and his team will take good care of you."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Dec 08 2021

"Dr. Mayer is a compassionate and kind person. He really takes his time to listen to what you have to say and takes his time to explain your situation to you. He shows genuine interest in his patients."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Sep 23 2021

"A really well educated doctor and very kind and welcoming!"

5.0 Review from E.W. Source: Google Aug 27 2021

"Dr Mayer is a wonderful gastroenterologist. He’s caring and thorough."

5.0 Review from T.M. Source: Google Aug 20 2021

"The care of Dr.Mayer and his staff was beyond pleasant n professional I felt so comfortable from the consultation to my day of surgery the after care and attentiveness was still felt. Hats off Dr.Mayer for explaining everything about my procedure , again thanks also to his staff for same level of care continue to do what u r doing n my prayers are that God continue to bless each and every one of u.. See u in 10years😂"

5.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google Aug 20 2021

"Wonderful doctor listens to what you are saying. concerned about how you feel. love that man"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Aug 19 2021

"All my concerns was handled in a timely fashion, Dr. Mayer is the most caring and understanding Physician, He took the time to listen to my concerns even in my most devastating moments regarding my heath! Thanx a million Dr. Mayer and may God continue to keep you and bless you... Sincerely! Shernette M. Snow"

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google Aug 19 2021

"This is not my first time seeing Dr Mayer. I have had other doctors but none holds a candle to Dr Mayer. He is kind, compassionate and caring! I made my husband go to him and he likes him also. I tell everyone to go to him. My primary Dr John Wise recommended him and I thought he brought the mold but he was right about Dr Mayer. I highly recommend him. Thanks for everything"

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google Jul 21 2021

"Dr Mayer’s caring and professional demeanor put me at ease and made me feel comfortable. Dr Mayer’s professionalism and compassionate actions gave me the assurance that I needed. I followed the Dr’s instructions, the instructions of the pharmacist. I arrived at the Dr’s office on the day of the procedure as instructed (30 minutes early). The procedure took 30 minutes at the most. I would highly recommend Dr Mayer"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Jul 16 2021

"My experiences with Dr. Hebert Mayer has always been very positive. He's very easy to talk to about my gastrointestinal issues. He is really an excellent doctor, listens to me about my concerns, makes great diagnoses, explains them in easy to understand terminology along with the medical terminology. From the moment he enters, his office he has this infectious smile and warmth about him that makes me feel less tense and uneasy unlike most doctors who usually makes me feel like I'm literally in stitches when he or she enters the room. He performs both my upper and lower g.i. tests. Before either test, he talks very reassuringly to me, ask if I have any questions. He's a really caring doctor, loves his patients, and outcome whether or not good or bad I know I am in really good hands."

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google Jul 15 2021

"When I met with Dr Mayer for the pre-procedure consultation, he was unhurried and so very thorough in his explanation that there was no need for me to ask any questions. On the day of the procedure, he checked on me while I was being prepped and again after I was moved into the recovery room. I could not have asked for a more compassionate, caring, and gentle doctor"

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jun 18 2021

"In a time where doctors are faced with so much stress and anxiety of their own, there is a doctor that exemplifies care and genuine concern for his patients. Dr Mayer saw me through a recommendation for an unknown illness. He was thorough asking many questions but most importantly listened to me, his patient as I told him my symptoms. What was more impressive than his wonderful bedside manner was him having his office calling me to check up on me to see if my issues were resolved. I even felt comfortable enough to bounce things off of him rather than some of the other doctors I had seen when I was recommended to other specialists for my problem when it was not in his field of expertise. I cannot say enough about him and his staff, including Missy his nurse. I recommend anyone who is lucky enough to be in his care."

5.0 Review from N.J. Source: Google Jun 16 2021

"Dr.Mayer is a compassionate and caring doctor.He and his staff took very good care of me.I didn’t know I had gone through the procedure.I recommend him to my family and friends."

5.0 Review from J.J. Source: Google Jun 15 2021

"Dr. Mayer is very personable and is such a blessing to be around. He goes out of his way to make sure that I understand what is being said to me. He takes his time and welcomes any feedback I may have. He is also very positive during every visit I had He really brightens up my day whenever I visit just by being caring, compassionate and proficient. He is a great doctor and a great person as well."

5.0 Review from P.C. Source: Google Jun 15 2021

"Everything was exactly as described and a better experience than expected"

5.0 Review from C.D. Source: Google Jun 14 2021

"For sure many years he has been a great asset to my health and care I trust him with my care"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Jun 14 2021

"Dr Mayer is a professional as a doctor who I trust with my healthcare needs and also a wonderful man who cares personally about me. I recommend him to family and friends."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Jun 14 2021

"I was treated very professionally from start to finish. The staff was fantastic & very attentive.Dr. Mayer is technically very good. His bedside manner and patience are second to none. If you are considering Dr. Mayer, for whatever you need, do yourself a favor, select him already! You will not regret the decision. Best in class! Regards, Tommy"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Jun 14 2021

"The way Dr. Mayer walked in the room, I knew the appointment would be great! He asked the right questions, and he listens to his patient. That is the most important aspect of any appointment, listening to the patient. His bedside manner is superb!! I can’t wait to see him at my next appointment"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Jun 14 2021

"Dr. Mayer has been my GI specialist for the past 21 years, and I wouldn't change a thing if I had the chance. He's always been knowledgeable, professional, empathetic, and personable. In a world full of physicians who can't remember your name or take the time to know you and your individual issues, Dr. Mayer has been a Godsend for me and my family. He's always taken the time to listen to me because he understands that I know my body like no one else and he can't help me if I don't feel informed of and included in my treatment plan. I've fired doctors for that reason alone! He's an amazing person, which I've learned over the last few decades, and I recommend him to anyone in my life who may ever need GI treatment...even my own family. Oh, I'm also a registered nurse and have worked with many doctors during my career. I know a great one when I encounter them. He's the real deal."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Apr 11 2021

"Dr. Mayer is the most compassionate physician I've had in a long time. He thoroughly explains everything you need to know and skillfully answers any questions you may have. He cares for the whole patient. He's a blessing to the profession and his staff complements him."

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google Apr 09 2021

"Dr. Mayer is a wonderful, compassionate and caring professional. He and his staff took very good care of me. I would recommend him to family and friends."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"Very caring Doctor, listens to sll your concerns and explains things thoroughly. Would highly recommend."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"From my first meeting with Dr Mayer, he made me feel very comfortable and confident with him as my doctor. He scheduled me for an endoscopy which I had never had. I was a little concerned but he reassured me the procedure would be fine. Day of the procedure he visited with before the procedure and after he sat down with me an explained the results, he also answered my questions completely."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Mar 11 2021

"Dr Mayer has a wonderful calming effect. He spends time explaining and making his patients feel extremely comfortable and at ease. I highly recommend him and the nursing staff is amazing. 5 star review."

5.0 Review from B.P. Source: Google Mar 10 2021

"Coming to Dr Mayer office a very nice atmosphere and treated you like family"

5.0 Review from M.E. Source: Google Jan 31 2021

"Great service caring staff immediate follow up . I was very pleased"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Jan 31 2021

"Excellent physician."

5.0 Review from E.A. Source: Google Jan 30 2021

"Dr. Mayer explained the procedure With detail. His bedside manner was reassuring. Anesthesia also did an excellent job. I have no memory of the procedure (desired effect) and no post procedure complications.I recommend Dr. Mayer without reservation."

5.0 Review from L.E. Source: Google Jan 30 2021

"You are such a loving inspiring doctor who cares about his patient as if they were his family. There's no words can explain the feeling that I feel for you as your patient but I can say that I love you with all my heart you're one of a kind doctor let such a big big heart you always know how to make your patients feel better no matter what the situation thank you for taking care of me. May God bless and keep you for all that you do"

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Jan 22 2020

"Extremely kind very professional Doctor who takes all the time necessary to explain in vernacular your condition. A wonderful gentleman as well. I had complete confidence in his skill and dedication."

4.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Aug 08 2019

"I offer this superior rating to Dr. MAMayer and one of his assistants, Kathy. My wife and I have been his patients for many, many years. He explained my gastrointestinal is the consummate physician. One is never rushed during an appointment. He fully discusses and explains your medical condition or test to be conducted. What prompted this review is a situation that occurred last week. I explained my symptoms by phone to Kathy She had promptly returned my message. She consulted with Dr. Mayer and they immediately ordered lab tests at Quest. Today she again promptly called me upon receiving partial lab results -- explaining she would call wh the remainder are received. An in-office visit will be scheduled as necessary. All of this was done without a copay. Dr. Mayer put my well-being first! Great people!!!"

5.0 Review from S.A. Source: Google Oct 06 2018

"During my visit, Dr Mayer was very kind and patient. He listened to me and I did not feel rushed or ignored, like with some doctors. Based on my first visit, I would recommend him to anyone. I wish he could be GP, honestly. And I will add that the front desk clerks and the nurses were also very pleasant and professional."