Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Apr 01 2022

"Great Doctor!!"

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Mar 29 2022

"Dr Nelson and his team are very professional. I recommend him 100%"

5.0 Review from F.F. Source: Google Mar 28 2022

"Dr. Nelson is very competent with a good bedside manner. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Mar 27 2022

"Professionally, Dr. Nelson is extremely attentive, thorough and has a wonderful bedside manner. I would recommend him to anyone in search of a Gastroenterologist in the Baton Rouge area!"

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Feb 28 2022

"Dr. Nelson is very pleasant and professional but also makes my visit comfortable! It’s a doctor visit that I would normally be nervous about but since my first visit to him a few years back I can say he puts me at ease !"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Feb 23 2022

"My visit with Dr. Nelson, and his staff, was very professional. Dr. Nelson sat with me, and answered all of my questions. I never felt rushed. Upon arrival, the wait was less than five minutes. I have been a patient for years, always great service."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Feb 15 2022

"Great experience with Dr. Nelson and his staff at Gastroenterology Associates on Jefferson Highway in Baton Rouge. My husband and I have been patients of Dr Nelson for many years. He takes time to address all of your concerns. He explains everything in an easy to understand way even at times with humor. Everyone there treats you in a professional manner and helps make what could be an uncomfortable situation tolerable. From the receptionist to the lab technicians, to the nurses and doctors, all treat you with kindness and compassion. We highly recommend Dr Nelson, his staff and facility."

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Jan 01 2022

"Excellent Doctor and staff."

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Dec 11 2021

"Very attentive, took great care to determine what I needed"

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Nov 18 2021

"Dr. Nelson is a very caring doctor who looks at every angle of what is bothering you. He is very knowledgeable about his field of medicine."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Nov 18 2021

"Extremely personable and knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Nov 04 2021

"Dr Nelson performed cateract surgery on my left eye one day, two weeks later he did the same surgery on my right eye. I was hesitant to have eye surgery but it was necessary and when I was told that Dr Nelson could implant my contacts into my eyes while he did the surgery I decided to do it. His staff were wonderful. They knew I was nervous so they they stayed right there with me talking and making me feel comfortable. One of the nurses even held my hand through out the surgery. It was like a miracle to get up the next morning and get in my car and drive around like I never had surgery."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Oct 13 2021

"Dr. Nelson is awesome and so is his team. He explains the procedures and Everything he is doing and makes you feel very comfortable. I will recommend Dr Nelson to family and friends."

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Oct 05 2021

"Dr Nelson give me a complete visit at each appointment. He show care and compassion and is very concern about my overall health. He ask questions and educate me regarding my health.I feel more in touch with my body as he had learned me how to better care for myself between visits. I am very comfortable with Dr. Nelson and trust him completely . He will be my Dr. until God call me home."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Oct 03 2021

"Dr. Nelson is very professional , yet very caring and attentive to my concerns. Would highly recommend him to friends and family."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Aug 19 2021

"We had a comprehensive consultation and exam. He addressed my needs with expensive tests or invasive procedures. I am very pleased with his recommended care. Everything is working well. Highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Aug 19 2021

"Dr Nelson has been my physician for about 14 years now. He is a very kind and very knowledgeable doctor, that really cares for his patients."

5.0 Review from L.F. Source: Google Aug 18 2021

"Dr. Nelson has done a thorough job of helping me, but also explaining and answering questions. He has always shown a general interest in not only my health, but family which has caused me not to just value him as a doctor but also a friend. I would refer anyone too him if they need the type of service he offers."

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Aug 12 2021

"My first visit with Dr. Nelson was in 1997 or 1998 and I have seen him almost every year since. My husband also sees him. We are very satisfied with the care we have received from him. I have recommended him to my family and friends. Great doctor and person."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Jul 21 2021

"Been seeing Dr. Nelson for years, always a great help!"

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google Jul 20 2021

"Dr. Nelson answers all your questions and takes the time to explain everything to you in detail. He is very nice and very professional too!"

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Jun 10 2021

"Andy is the smartest most compassionate Dr. that I go to. He always takes his time and explains everything. He is so through and researches and listens to his patients. A Brilliant Dr. who cares about his patients!"

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Jun 01 2021

"We love Dr. Nelson!"

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Apr 10 2021

"Dr Nelson is one of the most down to earth people anyone would ever meet."

5.0 Review from V.W. Source: Google Mar 30 2021

"Dr. Nelson is a wonderful physician who takes the time to get to know his patients. Going above and beyond is second nature to him. Dr. Nelson makes sure you are knowledgeable of your plan of care and he incorporates you as much as possible so you gain control and confidence over your health. Thank you Dr. Nelson for all that you do for your patients."

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"Great service staff and very knowledgeable doctor. Would highly recommend."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"He was thorough and answered all questions. Will use him again if needed"

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"The whole staff was very courteous and helpful. Dr Nelson takes time to talk to you and explain everything. A very caring doctor."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Mar 11 2021

"Dr Nelson was very knowledgeable and personable. He took his time and answered all of my questions. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"Very personable dr!"

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"Dr. Nelson is the most patient well educated well-informed doctor I’ve ever met. He takes the time to get to know you as well as your concerns. When it comes to Gastro and abdominal specialist, There is no one I would ever go to except Dr. Nelson."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"Dr . Nelson was impressive, prepared ,having reviewed my history..and very informative! My Gasto retired and I feel so blessed to have found Dr. Nelson. He gave me time and asked questions and listened to my answers and thoughts..He even told me a joke! I feel confident about the care he will provide for me and that is a great feeling to have when you have been chronically ill ! Thank you !! Thank You Thank You🦋🦋"

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"I love the service, the nurse that see me before Dr come in is so kind and she listens to any and everything I have to say. Now Dr Nelson is so funny to me and seriously about everything he say and do I take his word as truth"

4.0 Review from P.R. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"Dr. Nelson was in no hurry to see me in and out. Reviewed past, present and course of treatment, with my care. His staff was very kind and professional."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Feb 23 2021

"I have been a patient of Dr. Nelson for many years. I was referred by Dr. Louis Minsky and Dr. Nelson performed my first Colonoscopy. There were three small polyps present which he removed during the procedure. I have returned every 3 years. Dr. Nelson’s professionalism is obvious and though he is very intelligent, he speaks to me as a patient so that I understand his findings, his diagnosis and his medical guidance going forward. He is easy to converse with and comforting in his discussion. Dr. Nelson has also performed Endoscopy exams and other tests as needed and directed."

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google Feb 22 2021

"My husband and I love Dr Nelson! Highly recommend him for all your gastro needs!"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Feb 07 2021

"Dr.Nelson is nothing short of amazing! He is very professional and truly cares."

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Google Jan 26 2021

"I have been seeing Dr. Nelson for 17 years. He is a very dedicated and compassionate doctor. I just love him. My husband also sees Dr. thank Nelson"

5.0 Review from B.G. Source: Google Dec 21 2020

"My husband and I both have been patients of Dr Nelson for many years. He is very caring and a wealth of knowledge. He cares not only about us as patients but tries hard to accommodate our needs due to where we live and our jobs. He looks at the whole patient even though He is GI. This is why I rate him a 5 star!!"

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Dec 02 2020

"Dr. Nelson has treated me for many years. I wish all my doctors were as thorough, informative and as pleasant as he has been. Very pleased with him and would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Dec 02 2020

"He listens, and he knows his stuff. You can be confident!"

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Oct 13 2020

"Dr Nelson is very pleasant to visit with. He listens to you concerns and the symptoms discuss. He then explains in great detail what treatment in needed if any. I would refer others to him."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Jun 29 2018

"Dr. Nelson has been my doctor for almost 20 years. He is extremely knowledgeable and compassionate. He has improved the quality of my life by providing great care and by always being there for me. When you have Crohns, having someone you trust means a lot. I highly recommend him."