Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Mar 29 2024

"There is not enough good I can say. Wonderful Staff, incredible Doctor. The best possible experience a Colonoscopy could be."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"Highly skilled and professional practice with well run operation."

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"It was a great experience seeing the doctor. He was very helpful and professional. He explained all my concerns that I had very well do that I could understand them."

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google Feb 07 2024

"Absolutely love Dr. Nelson! He is very personable and his attitude and bedside manor is wonderful."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Feb 07 2024

"Dr. Nelson and his entire staff are both friendly and helpful. He is a doctor that not only asks questions, but LISTENS to me as a patient."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Jan 17 2024

"Beautiful experience. Patient to doctor A+. Explained my case and told me to come see him anytime I feel I need to concerning my situation. Very helpful!"

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Nov 16 2023

"Excellent! The best there is!"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Nov 06 2023

"Dr Nelson is very caring and thorough. He spent a lot of time with me"

4.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Oct 24 2023

"I have always been treated well by Dr. Nelson himself. Some staff members in check in & scheduling need a reminder that you should treat people the way you want to be treated."

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Dr. Nelson was fantastic. He took his time with the examination, was very thorough, then explained his diagnosis extremely well. This is what I expect of health care today. Bravo!"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Dr. Nelson is a very caring, compassionate and supportive physician. I have been seeing him for several years and I and very pleased with my progress."

5.0 Review from C.D. Source: Google Oct 03 2023

"I’ve seen Dr Nelson for years and would refer to him. Great service and staff."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Sep 30 2023

"Dr Nelson is one of the Best doctors I know. Attentive, caring and he goes the extra mile for his patients"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Sep 13 2023

"Dr andy nelson and his staff are wonderful! They know what they’re doing and tell you specifically what is going on with you! Nurses are greatly and helpful!"

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Aug 17 2023

"The most wonderful doctor you will ever meet!"

4.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Aug 04 2023

"I really appreciate the job Dr. Nelson and his staff does to help me out with Crohn’s disease."

5.0 Review from K. Source: Google Jul 27 2023

"I can highly recommend Dr. Nelson Excellent ,knowledgable kind and caring in every way."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google May 18 2023

"I live going to the clinic. They are all wonderful."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr Nelson is always compassionate and will listen to you. He always makes me laugh and puts the patient at ease."

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Always thorough, compassionate and extremely knowledgeable!!!!"

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google Feb 15 2023

"Always thorough, compassionate and extremely knowledgeable!!!!"

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Very professional and friendly physician"

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I have been seeing Dr. Nelson for 17 years. He is a very dedicated and compassionate doctor. I just love him. My husband also sees Dr. thank Nelson"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson always take care my problems on the first visit."

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson is very pleasant and professional but also makes my visit comfortable! It’s a doctor visit that I would normally be nervous about but since my first visit to him a few years back I can say he puts me at ease !"

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Nelson explained my situation and recommendations to me in easy to understand terms and clear guidance with his medical opinion. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Nelson takes time to listen and address all your health concerns. His staff is friendly and the office is run efficiently."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I have been seeing Dr Nelson since 1998. He has always made me feel at ease and well taken care of with my condition. He got me on the right medications to help my condition. He is kind and helpful."

5.0 Review from T.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Andrew C. Nelson MD is a wonderful amazing and awesome doctor if you need a Gastric doctor he's the one to choose"

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr Nelson has been my physician for about 14 years now. He is a very kind and very knowledgeable doctor, that really cares for his patients."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Been seeing Dr. Nelson for years. He makes you feel comfortable. Explains things in a way that you can understand."

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson has treated me for many years. I wish all my doctors were as thorough, informative and as pleasant as he has been. Very pleased with him and would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from W.E. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Great Doctor. My confidence level with Dr. Nelson is 100%."

5.0 Review from H.D. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"My visit with Dr.Nelson himself was great. But prior to him coming in I had two nurses in the room. The one nurse who did my blood pressure was super nice and helpful. The other nurse who was taking my information like my medications and previous surgeries was not pleasant. As a nurse you should know how to look up and spell at least the beginning of a medication but she could not. I did explain to her prior that I had a lot of medications and she may want to write them down and go back and add them to computer. However she proceeded to type one letter at a time for like 25 prescriptions. She then got mad cause there were so many prescriptions and told me this is too much I’m just going to have to write the rest and add them in later. She was very unprofessional with eye rolling and attitude and deep gasps she would make as rolling her eyes. Like is said the visit with Dr. Nelson himself was great so they will get the stars for him but definitely not for the one out of the two nurses in the room with me ."

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Awesome doctor! Always has a joke to make you smile! Like don't eat any nails! Very informative and professional! Highly recommend this doctor!"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson has been my physician for several years and has always spent time listening to my health needs and concerns. He works with you to schedule appointments according to your convenience."

5.0 Review from C.D. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Awesome Doctor! Dr Nelson his a doctor who is willing to spend his time with his patients instead of rushing you through the exam."

5.0 Review from V.R. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Nelson was so patient, didn't rush me took his time to explain things to me and I told him how I was feeling and how I went on google and asking google about my symptoms.I have not met too many like Dr Nelson, well done for listening at your patients, I thank you and appreciate you blessings sir."

4.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Well Dr. Nelson I've known for quite some time . During my last visit though I personally feel that much has changed , you know I have a fatty liver ultrasound is also saying that my pancreas is fatty . I'm not feeling very well , our last visit was very short and personally I didn't get much out of it besides the ultrasound in New Roads and a phone call from your office telling me that everything is alright . I guess I have to believe that , eventhough I'm not feeling like everything is alright . So wish me luck Dr. Nelson thanks"

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Nelson give me a complete visit at each appointment. He show care and compassion and is very concern about my overall health. He ask questions and educate me regarding my health.I feel more in touch with my body as he had learned me how to better care for myself between visits. I am very comfortable with Dr. Nelson and trust him completely . He will be my Dr. until God call me home."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson is awesome and so is his team. He explains the procedures and Everything he is doing and makes you feel very comfortable. I will recommend Dr Nelson to family and friends."

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great Doctor!!"

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Nelson performed cateract surgery on my left eye one day, two weeks later he did the same surgery on my right eye. I was hesitant to have eye surgery but it was necessary and when I was told that Dr Nelson could implant my contacts into my eyes while he did the surgery I decided to do it. His staff were wonderful. They knew I was nervous so they they stayed right there with me talking and making me feel comfortable. One of the nurses even held my hand through out the surgery. It was like a miracle to get up the next morning and get in my car and drive around like I never had surgery."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Professionally, Dr. Nelson is extremely attentive, thorough and has a wonderful bedside manner. I would recommend him to anyone in search of a Gastroenterologist in the Baton Rouge area!"

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson answers all your questions and takes the time to explain everything to you in detail. He is very nice and very professional too!"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My visit with Dr. Nelson, and his staff, was very professional. Dr. Nelson sat with me, and answered all of my questions. I never felt rushed. Upon arrival, the wait was less than five minutes. I have been a patient for years, always great service."

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent Doctor and staff."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson is very professional , yet very caring and attentive to my concerns. Would highly recommend him to friends and family."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"We had a comprehensive consultation and exam. He addressed my needs with expensive tests or invasive procedures. I am very pleased with his recommended care. Everything is working well. Highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from L.F. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson has done a thorough job of helping me, but also explaining and answering questions. He has always shown a general interest in not only my health, but family which has caused me not to just value him as a doctor but also a friend. I would refer anyone too him if they need the type of service he offers."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Extremely personable and knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very attentive, took great care to determine what I needed"

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Nelson is a very caring doctor who looks at every angle of what is bothering you. He is very knowledgeable about his field of medicine."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Been seeing Dr. Nelson for years, always a great help!"

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Nelson and his team are very professional. I recommend him 100%"

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great experience with Dr. Nelson and his staff at Gastroenterology Associates on Jefferson Highway in Baton Rouge. My husband and I have been patients of Dr Nelson for many years. He takes time to address all of your concerns. He explains everything in an easy to understand way even at times with humor. Everyone there treats you in a professional manner and helps make what could be an uncomfortable situation tolerable. From the receptionist to the lab technicians, to the nurses and doctors, all treat you with kindness and compassion. We highly recommend Dr Nelson, his staff and facility."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr . Nelson was impressive, prepared ,having reviewed my history..and very informative! My Gasto retired and I feel so blessed to have found Dr. Nelson. He gave me time and asked questions and listened to my answers and thoughts..He even told me a joke! I feel confident about the care he will provide for me and that is a great feeling to have when you have been chronically ill ! Thank you !! Thank You Thank You🦋🦋"

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"My husband and I love Dr Nelson! Highly recommend him for all your gastro needs!"

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Nelson is one of the most down to earth people anyone would ever meet."

5.0 Review from B.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"My husband and I both have been patients of Dr Nelson for many years. He is very caring and a wealth of knowledge. He cares not only about us as patients but tries hard to accommodate our needs due to where we live and our jobs. He looks at the whole patient even though He is GI. This is why I rate him a 5 star!!"

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very personable dr!"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Nelson was very knowledgeable and personable. He took his time and answered all of my questions. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Great service staff and very knowledgeable doctor. Would highly recommend."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Nelson is very pleasant to visit with. He listens to you concerns and the symptoms discuss. He then explains in great detail what treatment in needed if any. I would refer others to him."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He listens, and he knows his stuff. You can be confident!"

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The whole staff was very courteous and helpful. Dr Nelson takes time to talk to you and explain everything. A very caring doctor."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Nelson is the most patient well educated well-informed doctor I’ve ever met. He takes the time to get to know you as well as your concerns. When it comes to Gastro and abdominal specialist, There is no one I would ever go to except Dr. Nelson."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He was thorough and answered all questions. Will use him again if needed"

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I love the service, the nurse that see me before Dr come in is so kind and she listens to any and everything I have to say. Now Dr Nelson is so funny to me and seriously about everything he say and do I take his word as truth"

5.0 Review from V.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Nelson is a wonderful physician who takes the time to get to know his patients. Going above and beyond is second nature to him. Dr. Nelson makes sure you are knowledgeable of your plan of care and he incorporates you as much as possible so you gain control and confidence over your health. Thank you Dr. Nelson for all that you do for your patients."

4.0 Review from P.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Nelson was in no hurry to see me in and out. Reviewed past, present and course of treatment, with my care. His staff was very kind and professional."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Dr. Nelson has been my doctor for almost 20 years. He is extremely knowledgeable and compassionate. He has improved the quality of my life by providing great care and by always being there for me. When you have Crohns, having someone you trust means a lot. I highly recommend him."