Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google Jul 14 2024

"Dr. Shapiro was kind, calm and took time to explain my results. He answered all my questions and was not in a rush. A doctor like him is hard to find these days. The nurses were also wonderful!"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Jul 12 2024

"Excellent staff from start to finish ! 5 times the charm !"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"Knowledgeable, professional, personable and thorough. Dr. Shapiro is the best."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jun 05 2024

"Kind and on time!!!!!!"

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google May 25 2024

"Lovely office and facility. Dr Shapiro is the best! He is very caring and thorough and takes the time to figure out your GI issues."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Dr. Shapiro listened to my concerns and was thoughtful in his response, citing the current literature. Excellent ."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Mar 21 2024

"Highly recommend. Caring and compassionate."

5.0 Review from J.N. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"I have been with Dr Shapiro for many years. He listens to my concerns and I trust his expertise with my health completely."

5.0 Review from H.B. Source: Google Feb 10 2024

"Was all good. Everyone was very professional."

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google Feb 07 2024

"I highly recommend Dr. Shapiro and The Glenn Endoscopy. Very professional and very friendly. I felt completely comfortable during my procedure there"

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Jan 30 2024

"Dr. Alan Shapiro Very knowledgeable and helpful"

5.0 Review from G.H. Source: Google Jan 17 2024

"Dr. Shapiro was great regarding my treatment . I have a follow up appointment with him. He is an extremely caring physician. I’m glad that he’s my GI doctor"

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"Excellent care and professional."

4.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"The procedure went okay I was told the prep could have gone better, and the staff was very good."

5.0 Review from C.O. Source: Google Nov 18 2023

"Excellent care from knowledgeable staff. Everyone was very caring and professional!"

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Nov 09 2023

"Dr. Alan Shapiro is not only a good doctor who I've been going to for many years, but he is easy to talk to and takes time to explain everything and answer all your questions. He is kind and makes you feel comfortable talking to him. A++++."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Nov 06 2023

"Impressed he wanted to meet me before the colonoscopy. I have had other gastroenterologists that haven’t done this. Very friendly and easy to talk to. Entire staff was wonderful"

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"Best MD Ever !"

5.0 Review from P.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2023

"Amazing doctor and facility."

5.0 Review from P.W. Source: Google Oct 22 2023

"Amazing doctor and facility."

5.0 Review from E.G. Source: Google Oct 18 2023

"Dr. Alan Shapiro is one of the best professionals in our medical field, the most honest and compassionate doctor around."

5.0 Review from B.N. Source: Google Oct 07 2023

"I don't see Dr Shapiro often but I always have liked his knowledge and expertise for me."

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Oct 06 2023

"Hard to get better than Dr Shapiro!"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Sep 12 2023

"Dr. Shapiro has the rare gift of being an extremely competent, physician as well as being a patient listener with genuine compassion. He is a terrific diagnostician and has kept me in an improved health state for many years and provides me with a terrific peace of mind should any new problem arise. The best GI dr I’ve had in my 40 years living with Crohn’s disease."

5.0 Review from J.E. Source: Google Aug 12 2023

"Highly recommend Dr A Shapiro. Great bedside manner, wonderful staff. It was over before I knew it… no pain, everything went as planned."

5.0 Review from O.W. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Great doctor! Takes time to learn about your health and listens to what you’re saying. You know you are in good hands once you talk to him."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"The procedure performed by Dr Shapiro was painless, and I had no after effects. In other words, his service was perfect."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Dr.Shapiro is a competent, caring professional. Great doctor and person. Glad he’s my doc!"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Jun 27 2023

"Great doctor. Very smart. Cares about patient. Spent a lot time answering questions. A bit grouchy manner-wise, but EXTREMELY helpful and caring. Staff was good and responsive/attentive."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Jun 17 2023

"Best GI specialist around. You can tell he cares about his patients"

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"I had the best polite, caring service I could expect. Dr.Shapiro is a gentleman with interest in his patients. Very helpful. Satisfied answering any questions. I’m very lucky to be one of his patients."

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Detailed personable caring doctor."

5.0 Review from Google User Source: Google Mar 18 2023

"Awesome. Very attentive doctor. His staff is excellent."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Shapiro spend with me as much time as needed, paid attention to all details of my story during that visit. Also we discussed my current situation with pills and decided about the next colonoscopy visit. I was answered to all my questions and concerns so I was very satisfied with my visit."

5.0 Review from B.N. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"He is an excellent, caring doctor."

5.0 Review from A.F. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Everyone is friendly and helpful."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"One of the best doctors you can find. HE LISTENS."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is kind, gentle, attentive. He gives you all the time you need. He is a good person and great doctor… has helped me with my issues and has good follow-through. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from M.Z. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Very attentive, friendly, answered all my questions."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Shapiro has been my GI guy for many years. I always feel confident in his care. Dr Shapiro is a very good listener and attentive to my questions and concerns. He has provided and explained recommendations and included me in the decisions in my care."

5.0 Review from H.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I saw Dr. Shapiro for the first time for my unrelenting GI problem. He was very knowledgeable, thorough and helpful. Can reccommend him wholeheartedly."

5.0 Review from H.K. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr Shapiro was very patient and listened to my problems. Thank you"

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Great office, doctor, staff, clinical knowledge, and kind personality"

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is a very special person, he actually spent a great amount of time with me, he.answered my questions including showing me several photos that addressed my concerns. He displayed a great amount of empathy, patience and concern for my well-being. I highly recommend him!"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I am very pleased with the service I get at the office and very happy with Dr. Shapiro. I have been going there for years and have no complaints. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is the consummate physician—he has great expertise, is thorough, attentive, kind and comforting. He has been my GI doctor for many years, and I always feel completely confident and safe in his care. He also has a pleasing personality and takes time to discuss whatever is on your mind. To me, there is no one better! And, to top it off, his endoscopy center staff is warm, welcoming and help to make whatever procedure you’re there for a good experience."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro and his entire team were professional and comforting on the day of my colonoscopy. They are also good w/ follow up. I highly recommend Dr. Shapiro."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Very good"

5.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Performed my 4th colonoscopy with no adverse effects. Top notch doctor. Explained everything well."

5.0 Review from V.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I have been a patient of Dr. Shapiro for many years. He's a excellent Doctor. His staff and office people are very nice and professional. They will try and answer or help me out as much as they can. Dr. Shapiro is very sympathetic if you are having a health issue. I highly recommend Dr. Shapiro!"

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I've had Dr. Shapiro perform 2 colonoscopies on me in the last 5 years. Both experiences have been great experiences. I am glad that I went to him at The Glen Endoscopy Center. I won't go anywhere else now. The care provided by Dr. Shapiro is top notch as well as staff involved with having that procedure."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is extremely knowledgeable, compassionate and responsive. He is as good as it gets."

5.0 Review from P.K. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Awesome. Very attentive doctor. His staff is excellent."

5.0 Review from G.N. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Excellent gastroenterologist. My appointment was very prompt. He took the time to talk to me and asked all the right questions, which is quite amazing, concerning doctor appointments in this age."

5.0 Review from L.T. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is an excellent physician. He has great bedside manner and is very thorough. I have full confidence in his skills and would recommend him to everyone with no hesitation."

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Shapiro and company have a sense of humor in a field that requires it. And you get to pick your own tune by which you’ll go under."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"The reception and nursing staff was very professional and along with Dr Shapiro very nurturing through the entire procedure. The staff had followed up with me the next day to make sure all was well. I would definitely recommend this facility and doctor."

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is knowledgeable and attentive. It is reassuring as a patient to be in such capable hands."

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great dr!"

5.0 Review from P.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is the consummate professional and is very affable. He explains procedures and treatment very carefully and listens to his patients."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I’ve been seeing dr. Shapiro for quite a while now. He spends a lot of time with me, he answers all my questions, and he is very knowledgeable as well. I would recommend Dr. Shapiro to anybody who needs a gastroenterologist!"

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The drug prescribed was not so difficult to take properly. It made preparations much easier. The process was without ANY difficulty. The post procedure follow up visit was perfect all results of test with photos were discussed. Dr Shapiro is personable and professional. The perfect professional. Thank you."

5.0 Review from W.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I can't say enough good things about Dr. Shapiro. I had been experiencing serious stomach related issues a few years ago and had seen a number of doctors but with no luck until Dr. Shapiro. After a number of tests he was able to determine that I had Celiac disease and put me on a gluten free diet and I have been fine ever since."

5.0 Review from V.F. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is very caring, understanding doctor. He listened to my problems with no rush. Complete confidence, respect and trust."

5.0 Review from T.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I've had 3 colonoscopies with Dr. Shapiro. He and his staff arefantastic. I would not see anyone else for this procedure."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent experience from start to finish , everyone is professional and a pleasure to associate with . I would never go anywhere else. And, No I am not related to Dr Shapiro ! 😎"

5.0 Review from H.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"A great m.d"

5.0 Review from I.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is very caring and knowledgeable ,he always takes his time to explain everything and get to bottom of issues. Overall outstanding doctor that I would highly recommend"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have seen Dr. Shapiro for many years and for several colonoscopies. Dr. Shapiro has a highly professional manner, creates a sense of calm and confidence leading to the procedure, and clearly communicates what he finds and steps to be taken. I trust his work."

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My 1st colonoscopy and I can’t wait to come back! So much easier than what I thought thanks to Dr. Shapiro and his team. Prompt, polite, and they even made me laugh."

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"When it's time for my colonoscopy I put my complete trust in Dr. Shapiro. He always makes me feel comfortable and well cared for. He is a true professional."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is simply the best. His care, compassion and follow up are absolutely top notch. I understand from my Dr. Friends that his technical expertise is also unsurpassed. Frankly, i don't trust anybody else with my care or that of my family."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have been seeing Dr. Shapiro for many years. He has managed and treated several conditions with great results. I highly recommend Dr. Shapiro."

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is a GI doctor. He sent me a reminder to make an appointment, which I ignored, then he sent me another one which I ignored. I just hadn’t been feeling strong enough to get through a colonoscopy. Then he made me an appointment and I thought I’d better go. He checked out the GI department and said I’m not well enough to get a colonoscopy and I didn’t have any polyps last time anyway. He said my issues were from chemo. I have lung cancer and I hadn’t been feeling well, as a matter of fact I was sick as a dog when I went in to see him. My son drove me. Dr. Shapiro listened to my lungs intently, he didn’t like what he heard and contacted my oncologist. They both determined that I better get to the ER ASAP. I did, and was admitted with viral pneumonia and Covid. He saved my life. Had I not gone to him that day the I would not have made it, I had a 102° fever. Dr. Shapiro goes above and beyond for his patients. He is amazing, I’ve been going to him for 30 years for colonoscopys. I cannot speak more highly of him."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"He actually cares about his patients and takes time to really get to know them. He’s super friendly and makes sure everything is running smoothly."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is a great doc, very patient and doesn’t rush you."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. SHAPIRO is taking care of our family for many years. He is experienced, attentive, caring, taking time to communicate and follow up with us. He is a Doctor to trust and go back to."

5.0 Review from D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro has vast knowledge of gastro-intestinal issues, at least for me. Beyond that, he is simply easy to speak to regarding what may be happening with you and never gives you the sense he needs to be somewhere else when he's sitting with you. Empathetic, knowledgeable, helpful."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is one of the best! Professional, informative, knowledgeable, pleasant, caring, and spends the time needed to answer all your questions. He is thorough and I trust him completely! I highly recommend him!"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The best doctor , very good experience"

5.0 Review from C.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"In the past I am here Dr. Shapiro and he has done a good job. I trust him he’s very professional and he’s thorough and very honest. I am in the process of having a colonoscopy and an EGD this month and I have total trust in his ability to do an excellent job"

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"very good vary. caring excellant skillful m.d. Dr i strongly. recamend. him for colonoscopy"

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Alan Shapiro is outstanding as a doctor and as a person!"

5.0 Review from A.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is amazing. My parents and I had him over 15 years. He treats his patients like family. For him patients health is more important then anything else. I highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for a great gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My virtual visit was great. The doctor was excellent in all respects."

4.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Shapiro's office is very well run, everybody from the girls at the front desk to the girls who take you into your exam room to the girls who check you out are very nice very helpful and any one of them can answer any question you have if they can't they find the answer for you and have it by the time you're ready to leave. Dr Shapiro himself is very comforting kind never makes you feel that he's in a hurry takes his time with you. You never wait more than 15 minutes past your appointment time to see him so you're not waiting a long time you know it's not going to be a 2-hour appointment which I like! He also knows a lot about what he's doing I was told I had one thing and my first visit to him he looked at me and said you do not have that! I said how do you know and he said cuz I'm looking at your chart and I'm looking at the reports and now that I'm looking at you that's not what you have so he said I want you to have this ultrasound done and I'll have the results the next day and I called the office the next day and he was right I had something completely different than I was told I had by the doctors in the hospital after being there for 5 days they gave me the wrong diagnosis Dr Shapiro gave me the right diagnosis! For that I am forever grateful to Dr Shapiro. If you're looking for a gastrointestinal doctor I would see Dr Shapiro!"

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Jun 17 2021

"Dr Shapiro is taking care of us for years He is very attentive and response to us with patience care and knowledge We are sure he will be there whenever we need his expertise and makes us feel important when we ask for his help Larisa and Michael"

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Jun 17 2021

"Dr. Shapiro is a wonderful gastroenterologist. He is both brilliant and empathic, and puts one at ease, whether it be for a routine screening visit or if a more challenging medical issue arises. His attention to detail is very reassuring, and he treats you as if you were his only patient. I only wish all my doctors could be this competent, considerate and kind."

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I received a very high quality service. I am glad that I made an appointment. Finally, I do not have this problem anymore."

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is the best doctor he saved my life and the new medication works great the price was great only 20.00 dollars I am glad he is my doctor thank you so much for everything ❤"

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Shapiro is very caring and attentive. He is thoughtful in his approach to treatment options and really listens to my concerns and thoughts on medication and testing before we settle on a plan of action."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Shapiro is the consummate professional with a warm bedside manner. I felt cared for prior to my procedures and he and his staff were attentive and informative throughout my visit. I felt I received the best possible GI care and I highly recommend Dr Shapiro and his team for any GI concerns."

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Shapiro is extremely kind, respectful and can make any procedure comfortable. I would highly recommend him to anyone. His staff is so professional"

5.0 Review from G.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Alan Shapiro has been our family’s doctor for 20 years he is not only a excellent doctor he is also a excellent person I am very fortunate to have him as my doctor ,"

5.0 Review from I.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is simply the best. I feel really lucky to have him as my physician."

5.0 Review from V.Z. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Exelent!!!!!!!"

5.0 Review from W.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Shapiro is outstanding!!! Compassionate physician with excellent bedside manor. Highly recommend!!"

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Shapiro is one of the most thorough and knowledgeable Doctors. Additionally, he has wonderful bedside manner and makes you feel comfortable. We had to see him several times and he has made us feel so confident in his care. Truly amazing Doctor!"

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Great Doctor A+++ no questions .Thank you Dr. Shapiro ."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Shapiro has been my gastroenterologist for many years. He is also my husbands Dr. He is the most pleasant doctor. He is always willing and ready to discuss any issues you might have and answer any questions. He incorporates your input in any decision making and facilitates the process. His bedside manners is beyond professional, but most importantly his follow up calls on test results are always timely."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Shapiro is a class act, wonderful Doctor. I have had issues for years and just one appointment with him has already made a world of a difference."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Staff is friendly and accommodating as is Dr. Shapiro. He is thorough and offers of himself the necessary time patient needs to ask questions. I would comfortably recommend him without question."

5.0 Review from P.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Shapiro is very thorough and I feel very comfortable with him."

5.0 Review from R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Shapiro was referred to me by my older brother. My brother's experience was excellent and Dr. Shapiro helped him get off nearly a decade of Nexium use. I have had doctor Shapiro taking care of my GI issues for about 5 years and he is a caring and thorough physician who listens to you and answers each question thoughtfully and precisely. I am going in for my second colonoscopy and feel confident and in the best care with this excellent doctor."

5.0 Review from L.N. Source: Google May 25 2020

"To begin with, Dr. Shapiro was on time. He didn’t make me feel rushed. And the exam was pretty quick. He gave me a plan of action that I felt very confident with."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google May 25 2020

"It was my first visit with Dr. Shapiro. He was very welcoming, interested in my case. The visit was very informative. I’ m in good hands."

5.0 Review from I.G. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Been going to Dr.Shapiro for many years. I feel as though he takes the time to get to know the whole patient history and works with the patient for the best medical approach for their individual issues."

5.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Great Dr. Easy to talk to, very approachable and honest. Listened to all I had to say and offered his opinion on what should be done and most importantly, allowed me a choice in the manner of my treatment, which is very rare thing to hear, as most doctors just tell you: "this is what you need to do" and end of story. Highly recommended!"

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Very good Doctor, takes time to listen and explain issues."

5.0 Review from K. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Dr. Shapiro is terrific! He and the staff at North Shore Gastroenterology put me at ease immediately. He explains each procedure thoroughly and spends as much time with you as you need, answering all questions. So glad I was referred to him; I now tell everyone to see him!"

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google May 25 2017

"Dr Shapiro is a great doctor. He listens and wants to help. He's honest and caring. He reads your medical history and takes everything into consideration."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 25 2017

"A wonderful, caring and consummate professional doctor. I could not possibly recommend him strongly enough. We should all be so lucky as to have doctors like Dr. Shapiro."