Patient Reviews

GI Alliance physicians are among the most reputable and distinguished gastroenterologists across the nation. Focused on clinical excellence and patient-centered care, our specialists seek to be the partner you need in your quest for better health. We value patient feedback and appreciate every review we receive from those we are privileged to treat. For your convenience, we have gathered a collection of reviews, stories, and testimonials provided by patients who have visited our practices. We welcome you to explore the feedback below to learn more about what it means to be a patient of GI Alliance.

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google Jul 07 2022

"Dr Hearne has been understanding and extremely helpful when it comes to treating my Crohn's. I've been virtually pain-free since being prescribed Humira for treatment. I highl recommend his services."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Jul 07 2022

"Very professional, well done medical service by Dr. Hearne and his staff."

4.0 Review from N.K. Source: Google Jul 06 2022

"They were on time. Everybody was very professional. Dr. Hearn was very interested in my condition and suggested to SEBO test. We are awaiting the results. And we got in and out in an hour. That’s unheard of!"

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Jul 06 2022

"From setting up the appointment to the completion of the procedure, Dr Hearne and his staff of highly trained and personable professionals, cared for me in a way that is becoming increasingly uncommon. It was one of those rare experiences, when finding absolutely nothing, is a good thing. Thank you Dr. Hearne for an excellent experience."

5.0 Review from R.J. Source: Google Jul 06 2022

"My Family Practice doctor recommended Dr. Hearne to me and I made an appointment to see him for a routine visit. His office was conveniently located and his staff was highly trained and very professional. My visit with Dr. Hearne was also very professional and he has a great manner with patients. I would recommend Dr. Hearne and his practice if you have need of a Gastroenterologist"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Jun 28 2022

"My husband and I both see Dr Hearne. He is such a wonderful listener. Gives great advise and doesn't push us to do anything we don't want to do. We both have had colonoscopies as he suggested. He explains everything in a way to understand. I would recommend Dr Hearne."

5.0 Review from R.F. Source: Google Jun 14 2022

"I've had extensive exposure to gastroenterologists for over 40 years. There are many fine ones; Dr. Hearne is my favorite. Communicative, personable, and supremely competent. Great guy and doc"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google May 16 2022

"Very fast and efficient process."

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google May 08 2022

"The staff is friendly, the paperwork uncomplicated and I got in to see Dr. Hearne promptly. I had a lot of questions and concerns which Dr. Hearne patiently answered and explained in a manner that was easy to comprehend. My visit with him was unhurried, relaxed and informative. I would recommend his services to my family and friends without hesitation."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google May 05 2022

"Went in for my colonoscopy, was a bit worried because was my first time. I can't believe how amazingly easy and pain free the whole thing was. They put me under, I was out like a light within 2 minutes. Next thing I know they wake me up, maybe 40 minutes later, and tell me we're all done. I literally felt nothing. No pain or discomfort, either during or after the procedure. I joked with the doctor, uhh did you even do my colonoscopy, or just allowed me to take a quick nap? I had no issues whatsoever. Thank you, Dr. Hearne!"

4.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google Apr 08 2022

"I used to get my procedures done at Dr Hearne's 410 clinic. That was always such a great experience. This new office seems like hearding cattle. Everyone was very nice though. However, the anesthia was extremely painful. I grabbed my underarm and said THAT HURTS. The anesthisiologist said she would slow it down and Dr Hearne said that happens but very rare. Seems to me she pushed it too fast. I love Dr. Hearne!!!!! I have recommended many of my family and friends to him."

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Apr 07 2022

"Dr. Hearne and his staff are amazing. They are courteous , professional, and caring. Both my husband and I have been patients of Dr. Hearne for many years. His expertise puts us at ease and his caring personality makes us feel special. His staff is incredible answering questions and making sure we felt ok. Dr. Hearne talks to you both before and after procedures. We are extremely pleased with him!"

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"Dr. Hearne was great! He didn't treat my symptoms like they were nothing and he explained it without treating me like I was dumb. He also reminds me of Bill nye the science guy!!!"

5.0 Review from A.V. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"This was the easiest colonoscopy I have ever had , starting from scheduling, I even had to move it a day because of my daughter who's going to drive me. The "prep" came in way in advance with instructions. This one is different from the past 3 that I had, the staff are all very accommodating and professional. Dr Hearne talked to me before lights out and after the procedure, everything was smooth as silk, see you on 10 years 😁😁😁"

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"I was comfortable. I was treated with kindness and respect. All questions were answered and it was a great experience. I'm sorry I missed Dr. Hearne's call the next day to see how I was doing but I really did appreciate that he took the time to check up on me."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Apr 06 2022

"The entire staff is absolutely awesome. They are professioinal, show they care, are kind, and hard working. These are some of the nicest people I have ever met in the medical field!"

5.0 Review from M.E. Source: Google Mar 10 2022

"My experience with Dr. Hearne was wonderful! He is and has always been very pleasant and caring, while being professional as well. If I had to recommend a doctor, he would definitely be number one in the top ten."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Mar 08 2022

"Very friendly and attentive to balance sound medical decisions to meet my needs."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Mar 08 2022

"Outstanding! Dr. Hearne and staff treat you with respect, professionalism, and I would say they are the best at what they do!"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Mar 08 2022

"The entire staff was professional and supportive. I never wondered what would happen or who could help answer questions. Dr. Hearne talked to me before and after my procedure to ensure all my questions were answered. He made sure I knew the results immediately after my procedure. The facility was immaculate from the waiting area to the procedure area. Thank you all for making my experience as positive as possible!"

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Feb 04 2022

"I really like Dr Hearne he is very explanatory about every thing and very detailed. I had another Dr before him that didn’t answer their phone no call back on results ever. I was always calling them. As a matter a fact Dr Hearne found out my results for me. I have stomach issues and he is determined to find out the problem and get to the bottom of my issues. I truly appreciate him and his staff for everything They have done so far."

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google Feb 03 2022

"Great doctor and employed! I will recommend it 100 percent."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jan 19 2022

"Been using Dr Hearn for years. Love him. He does a great job and gets back to you quickly Thorough work up for an intestinal problem with good results Highly recommended"

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google Jan 05 2022

"In and out in a timely manner. Dr. Hearne was great, made me feel at ease. No discomfort, nursing staff was very good answered all questions."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Jan 05 2022

"Prep was much better than prior experience, staff and Dr Hearne were excellent and best of all it was a quick process. Thank you."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Jan 05 2022

"Lovely facility, staff and efficiency. Very nice experience."

5.0 Review from F.H. Source: Google Jan 04 2022

"The usually dreaded probe was seamless. The hardest part <30 secs was the injection from the anesthesiologist. The procedure itself with Dr Hearne was smooth, fast & efficient."

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Google Jan 04 2022

"The staff was polite and seemed to move business along without it feeling rushed or haphazard. Recommended!"

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Jan 04 2022

"Dr. Hearne is a excellent Dr. He explained everything to me, he's also very kind. My experience was very good. It's stressful when getting any tests done but everyone was very professional and caring. I would definitely recommend Dr. Hearne and Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Dec 03 2021

"From the moment I stepped into Dr. Hearne’s office I felt a warm, inviting atmosphere from his front desk staff. Then the intake nurse was careful to listen to my concerns and background. I was then seated back in the reception room after. Next, Dr. Hearne himself greeted me and walked me into his office. He had already familiarized himself with my medical records and was very prepared, knowledgeable, reassuring and efficient to lay out the plan to address my health concerns. Everything and everyone was perfect. Efficient, welcoming and professional."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"I have had a wonderful experience with Dr. Hearne & the amazing ladies at the desk. Everyone seems to genuinely care and they are quick to jump on the ball. They’ve managed to make a difficult situation a bit easier and I can’t thank them enough."

5.0 Review from T.P. Source: Google Oct 20 2021

"The staff and the entire process at Dr Hearn’s office was a breeze. I would definitely recommend Dr Hearn’s and his staff to anyone looking to go through the process."

5.0 Review from T.G. Source: Google Oct 19 2021

"Dr. Stephen Hearne is an outstanding Gastroenterologist. I have been with him for 25+ years. His new office on IH-35 & Topperwine is very easy to access."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Oct 19 2021

"Dr. Hearne is very professional and friendly he explained my procedure in detail, didn't feel a thing, very quick procedure. Dr. Hearne entire staff was professional and friendly as well. Highly recommend Dr. Hearne, professionalism at the highest level."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Sep 24 2021

"Dr. Hearne is the epitome of a professional. I would recommend him for your gastroenterological needs."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Sep 12 2021

"Dr. Hearne is a compassionate and caring professional who genuinely cares for his patients. My procedure went extremely well from beginning to end. He is also surrounded by a very friendly, professional, and efficient staff who provided exceptional care for their patients."

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Sep 03 2021

"The appointment went very smoothly from check-in, to Dr. Hearne's visit (a caring professional) to check out. Arranged the follow-up procedure and the prep medications have already arrived."

5.0 Review from E.P. Source: Google Aug 09 2021

"I felt very comfortable sharing the intimate details of my gastric problems with Dr Hearne asking logical questions about my symptoms. Thanks Dr Hearne"

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google Aug 07 2021

"My husband and I have gone to Doc Hearne for many years, and we are impressed with his abilities and his kindness. We recommend him to friends and family. Nancy Brock"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Aug 05 2021

"Dr. Hearne has been my doctor for several years. He is thorough and will not prescribe procedures or medications that are not necessary. I am very pleased with his practice and his staff."

5.0 Review from I.M. Source: Google Aug 05 2021

"Dr Hearne is the best. The process so easy. Never like drinking the stuff before, but if you have to, this is the place you want to go to."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Jul 17 2021

"The whole experience from making the appointment to completing the procedure was professional and relatively hassle free. Most importantly, I have complete confidence in the entire team. Will engage them again if necessary."

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google Jul 08 2021

"My experience with Dr. Hearne and the Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio was very good. The facility was clean and well organized. Everyone was friendly and concerned about my well-being. The procedure, a colonoscopy, was performed on time. Everyone made sure that I was comfortable and had no needs. The procedure was smooth, I didn't even realize it was going on, and Dr. Hearne met with me afterwards to carefully explain the procedure and what it revealed. Start to finish took less than 2 hours. I would highly recommend Dr. Steven Hearne and the Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio."

5.0 Review from J.N. Source: Google Jul 07 2021

"Staff was very pleasant & kind. I will recommend Dr Hearne to my husband for his colonoscopy next year!"

5.0 Review from D. Source: Google Jul 07 2021

"Friendly, professional staff from the time I walked in the front door to the time I walked out. Nice, clean facility also. Highly recommended!"

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Jun 03 2021

"I am so happy to share my in office experience with Dr. Steven Hearne. He has been my doctor for many years and I most appreciate his medical knowledge, attention to detail and complete explanations. I have always felt comfortable, safe and well cared for by him and his staff. I have never waited long for an appointment or procedure. To conclude, I would highly recommend Dr. Hearne and his practice to anyone. Janet Wernli"

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Jun 03 2021

"Dr. Hearne and his staff was very caring and very knowledgeable and made me me feel very comfortable about a procedure that usually has been uncomfortable in the past. They were great from the front office staff, to the nurses, and of course anathiologist was great working by Dr. Hearne side."

5.0 Review from P.E. Source: Google Jun 03 2021

"Dr. Hearne and his staff are professional and caring. I will continue to go to him."

5.0 Review from B.G. Source: Google Jun 03 2021

"Excellent work by all involved. In and out timely, no after effects or issues, exactly the way it is supposed to happen. I was very pleased. Thank you."

5.0 Review from E.M. Source: Google May 04 2021

"The staff was so nice and everything went well. I will definitely recommend to my family and friends."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google May 04 2021

"Hadn’t seen Dr Hearne in quite a few years but needed to get advice and guidance on a couple of health issues I’d been having. He explained everything very well, told me not to be concerned about some bloodwork I’d recently gotten, and upped the dosage on a med he’d prescribed. Follow-up visit in 6 weeks to see how I’m doing. Very good experience - he made me feel better just by talking to me! And the increased dosage has helped."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Apr 08 2021

"The courteous support staff and the professional staff at Gastroenterology was superb. Ongoing reminders to prepare for the procedure kept the experience easy and the in house treatment and procedure were very pleasant. A great team that worked together and I give a thumbs up for the whole process. Great job!"

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Apr 06 2021

"Very professional people. The procedure (colonoscopy) was painless. The results are inestimable. While I am not exactly looking forward to my next one three years from now...I am certainly not fearful."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Apr 06 2021

"Dr. Hearne has a wonderful bedside manner. His expression is always cheerful and always makes you feel all your questions were answered when you leave his office plus his staff is very nice and helpful."

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google Apr 06 2021

"MY EXPERIENCE WAS COMFORTABLE AND DETAILED. IT WAS ALSO PROMPT AND ON SCHEDULE"

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Apr 06 2021

"Dr. Hearn is kind and caring. His professional manner is informative and assuring. The procedure he performed was successful in eliminating my swallowing problem. The care I received at the surgical center was great. There was no waiting time even though my transport service got me there much earlier than I was expected. The nursing staff was excellent, so kind and considerate. I must say it was a very positive experience altogether."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Mar 09 2021

"Doctor Steven Hearne has done a fantastic job in restoring my confidence in solving my eating problems since cancer and I feel I am well on my way to putting weight back on. He was very precise in explaining my condition and wasted no time doing something about it. I am very pleased with Doctor Hearne and would refer him without hesitation."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Mar 05 2021

"I recently became a new patient and found Dr. Hearne to be extremely professional, knowledgeable, and patient. Having been sick since I was a child, I’ve known many doctors... most of which have become callused and have lost their bed-side manor. Dr. Hearne took his time, and was honest, while maintaining a caring and highly educated demeanor. I would recommend his expertise to anyone seeking a gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Mar 04 2021

"From beginning to end this was by far one of the easiest and seamless procedures that I have ever had done. The staff is wonderful and make you feel so comfortable. Dr. Hearne was great and I really liked it that he called to check up on me afterwards. I would highly recommend Gastroenterology to anyone."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Mar 04 2021

"Absolutely the single best experience one could hope for. Everyone extremely courteous, polite, professional, and expedient..... Enough to make you want to go back in 10 years."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Mar 04 2021

"Thank you for everything, no I do not have any bad symptoms, everything is good. I drove 2 1/2 hours for the procedure because I like Dr. Hearne he is a great Doctor."

5.0 Review from J.E. Source: Google Feb 04 2021

"I am very grateful for the overall experience under Dr. Hearne's care. I was very happy with the more than fair financial accomodations I was provided with. I felt very comfortable before and after my procedure. The entire staff was friendly and very professional. I would highly recommend Dr. Hearne's to anyone needing his specialty care. I look forward to continuing my care with this highly qualified Doctor. Thank you."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Jan 26 2021

"I was referred to Dr. Hearne after a recent visit to the ER. I was able to schedule an appointment the following week. The staff was friendly and efficient Dr. Hearne was polite and thorough. He personally took the time to jot down two Cardiologist that he recommended that were closer in proximity to my home. A very good experience!"

5.0 Review from Z.P. Source: Google Jan 24 2021

"I’ve been a patient of Dr. Hearne since I moved to San Antonio and have always had a good experience at his office. I don’t ever recall having to wait very long whenever I’ve gone in for an appointment. The front desk staff is helpful and has been easy to contact on the phone. I’m glad my primary care doctor referred me to Dr. Hearne."

4.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Jan 22 2021

"As much as I would like to give them 5 Stars, I can't because of the receptionist at the front desk. Maybe she was new, and if so, will get better. I hope so, because the nurse and Dr. Hearne were both great."

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Jan 22 2021

"Excellent Telemed appointment with Dr. Hearne. Dr. Hearne answered all my questions during the consult. Listened, diagnosed and made follow up appointment. Appreciated the ease and quickness."

5.0 Review from D.Z. Source: Google Dec 22 2020

"Dr. Steven Hearne has been my gastroenterologist for 20+ years. His knowledge, patient interaction and professional attitude is unmatched. Appointments are always on time and phone calls are always returned. He is truly the best."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google Dec 18 2020

"Dr Steven Hearne performed my colonoscopy. I had a phone consultation with him before it was scheduled, so he could get medical history and answer all my questions. The office mailed me my instructions and directions to the facility. The prep, of course, was not fun, but it was not bad either. I was taken back very soon after I got to the facility. There was not much waiting time. Everything went well. He gave me pictures and talked to me afterwards, so I had all my questions answered. I had no discomfort from the procedure. And I was on the way to a favorite restaurant with my husband not very long after having arrived. I would highly recommend Dr Steven Hearne."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Dec 03 2020

"I highly recommend Dr. Steven Hearne and his staff. My appointment was on time as scheduled. His staff was very curtious and prompt with my vitals. Dr. Hearne was very informative about my procedure and also diagnosed, explained and will treat another situation I am currently dealing with."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Nov 05 2020

"Superb from front desk to escort to car! Very professional staff!!"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Oct 20 2020

"The doctors and nursing staff at the Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio were fantastic! Even with all that is going on with the pandemic, I was put at ease with all the precautions being taken."

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Sep 11 2020

"Excellent customer service and Dr is awesome!"

5.0 Review from C.N. Source: Google Sep 03 2020

"Dr. Hearne is a laid back and informative when the questions are asked. I like his bedside manner and felt safe in his hands when I had my surgical testing procedures. He provided me pictures and information on findings."

5.0 Review from J.Y. Source: Google Aug 20 2020

"Husband and I have gone to Dr.Hearne for many years. He answer's all our question's and never made us feel rushed. Also very important to us is the fact that you will not be made waiting. The people working with him are also very nice and efficient. J.Y."

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Aug 18 2020

"The Doctor was prompt and very thorough in explaining in layman's terms my diagnosis. Also very assuring that it's a common occurrence that can be treated quickly and effectively."

5.0 Review from E.M. Source: Google Aug 18 2020

"Excellent "chair" side manner. He seemed very empathetic and listened to my every concern."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Aug 06 2020

"I had never seen Dr Hearne before, but when I was having problems with my stomach him and his office saw me right of way, which I appreciated. Once I saw Dr Hearne he gave me a thorough examination, and also ran labs. He put me at ease that I was fine and there was nothing he found abnormal with my stomach. Since I had just turned 50 he also recommended I do my Colonoscopy. I was really scared that something might be wrong, but after the procedure Dr. Hearne was right there when I woke up and reassured me that I was fine, and that I didn't have to see him for another 10 years. That was a relief. Even after my procedure he called me personally the next day to see how I was feeling and to check on me. Not many Dr's do that these days. I want to Thank Dr. Hearne and his staff for seeing me and for taking care of me."

5.0 Review from V.A. Source: Google Aug 05 2020

"Staff were all friendly. Doctor Hearne was very nice and Anesthesiologist explained in details. Made me laugh which is a plus because I felt comfortable and not stress. Place was absolutely clean. Procedure was quick. I would highly recommend this place."

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Jul 18 2017

"Dr Hearne is prompt and polite. He knows his field well and answers questions and concerns without delay. The office staff are polite and do their jobs well and in a timely manner."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Aug 26 2016

"Great experience from office appointments to procedure. Excellent staff."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Jun 14 2016

"Dr Hearne was the best, great bedside manner!"